Skip to content The Open University

Student and tutor module reviews

Discovering the arts and humanities

see module description

  • Points: 60
  • Code: A111
  • Level: 1
On this page

Student reviews

This module is well structured with great content. You may take this module thinking you want to study one area or subject however you may very well, as I did, find another which sets you on a new path.

Matthew Fletcher

Course starting: October 2019

Review posted: November 2020

I immensely enjoyed this module more so than I thought I would! It was a great start to my academic journey and laid out in a way that really allows you to step back into studying again.

I found out that the aspects I expected to enjoy most were actually sometimes the ones I least enjoyed and vice versa.

I hope all my modules are laid out as well as this one!

Madison Kingrey

Course starting: October 2019

Review posted: September 2020

Having studied this module simultaneously with module 'Voices, texts, and material culture' (A105), I was surprised at how interesting I found this module to be. My tutor was extremely helpful and provided feedback which I look to taking with me as I move forward with my OU education. Highly recommend this module.

Stacey Lannigan

Course starting: October 2019

Review posted: August 2020

Overall, I liked the module. I didn't enjoy so much the chapters about Music, as I am not so interested in the topic.

I had trouble with my first tutor, but luckily the OU transferred me to a new group with a great tutor! The tutor would answer all my questions in time and gave me very interesting information.

It was my first OU module and I must confess the online tutorials are very few...I thought we would have more often and longer lectures! They took always only 1 hour. That's very short. The tutors would also only explain what was given in the textbooks and gave very rarely extra information.

I think the module is good and great for Art & Humanities students.



Course starting: October 2019

Review posted: July 2020

I found the module materials were good and explained the subjects well.The study skills each week were helpful. I enjoyed the historical parts of the module as this is the subject of my degree. The parts I found more difficult were the chapters on music, poetry and philosophy. Though after finishing the weeks study I understood these subjects better. Another part of the module materials I enjoyed was the chance to do further study at the end of each week. This I did on most weeks of the module. I think the workload on the module is manageable, I had to time plan giving myself study time in the morning and afternoon, but also allowing myself days when I could go and do other things.Having had experience of AA100 I think that A111 module materials were better and the chapters flowed together better on A111.

Course starting: October 2019

Review posted: July 2020

A fantastic introduction to the world of humanities. Unlike some other OU Level 1 modules, the topics move along quickly so if you aren't enjoying something it's over with pretty soon! Personally, it helped me decide on the direction to take my Arts and Humanities degree - I was originally set on taking a route through The Classics, but have since changed my direction to include more literature.

The module books are easy to follow, as are the website portions. Like most people say, the forums are a bit lacklustre and I found that it tended to be the more outspoken members that led the way, not necessarily allowing much conversation from quieter members (a lot of comments ignored if you weren't already part of a conversation that started before the topic was even covered).

Overall though, an enjoyable module and helpful if you are a little undecided which Arts/Humanities route to take.

Course starting: October 2019

Review posted: July 2020

Please note

Each of the views expressed above is an individual's very particular response, largely unedited, and should be viewed with that in mind. Since modules are subject to regular updating, some of the issues identified may have already been addressed. In some instances the faculty may have provided a response to a comment. If you have a query about a particular module, please contact your Regional Centre.

Enter a module code to find a review

To send us reviews on modules you have studied with us, please click the sign in button below.