Skip to content The Open University

Student and tutor module reviews

Reading and studying literature

see module description

  • Points: 60
  • Code: A230
  • Level: 2
On this page

Student reviews

I enjoyed this module for the most part. The texts we had to read was quite varied and I was introduced to some really enjoyable reading material that I would otherwise never have read ('Candide' was surprisingly enjoyable).

It was rather full-on and I noticed quite a jump in the workload from the OU level 1 modules - although that was to be expected. I would advise doing plenty of reading ahead of time so you are better prepared when the time comes to work on your tutor-marked assignments.

Course starting: October 2020

Review posted: August 2021

I really enjoyed this module. There's a lot of reading to do so I recommend that you read all the set books at least once before the start of the module.

This module really helps you to look at some of the classics in a different way and will no doubt, like myself, introduce you to some authors you have never heard of.

As weird as this may sound, I really enjoyed the assignments which build up your skills nicely as you went further into the module.

A230 is my favourite OU module so far!

Jodie Murrell

Course starting: October 2019

Review posted: August 2020

There is certainly lots of variety with this module, from studying plays, poetry, novels and novellas. The pace of studying is very quick,and you have to be uber organised from the beginning. Without a doubt, getting a head start on the reading helped in the early months as my full attention was on the module materials and activities rather than spending the week reading a whole novel and trying to study it half read. By Christmas break I could catch up with the next batch of reading for the next section beginning in January. The tutor-marked assignments are not easy and are daunting the first time you see the assignment titles, but you find that you know more than you realise and you have the support of other students and enriching tutorials to help. My tutorials were always lively and busy which helps immensely when you need a boost of morale. Overall, I loved this module and felt even though it was challenging, it has equipped me with skills and knowledge that will help me to teach in the future.

Course starting: October 2018

Review posted: September 2019

I really enjoyed this module. I enjoyed the diverse choice of books so that there was something for everyone. I enjoyed the tutor-marked assignments and even the exam was an enjoyable experience as I had studied for the questions I wanted to answer. My tutor was also very helpful and the online tutorials were really worth participating in. The module materials and online material were excellent. I would happily take this module again.

Sheila June South

Course starting: October 2018

Review posted: August 2019

I really enjoyed this course and the texts covered were interesting and engaging. I also thought the diversity of texts were excellent and the poetry sections were great, particularly the New York poets. I enjoyed every assignment and although they challenged me I got some of my best marks on this course; I found that the more I put into the course the more I got out of it. The only downside was the exam which (due to an OU error on the paper) proved very challenging and I was disappointed with my exam result. Overall, an excellent and interesting course, but make sure you keep focused on the end-of-course exam and if things don't go to plan try to stay focused.

Course starting: October 2017

Review posted: September 2018

A230 helped me better understand the process of textual and contextual analysis in literature, and I gained a great deal from the TMAs and feedback from my tutor.

But I struggled to perform this same analysis under exam conditions. The thinking that produced TMAs seemed to need an extended time period and careful study of texts. When that same thinking was required in an exam, with time constrained and the only textual source being memory, I could not perform to the same standard.

And it seemed strange that the course grade weighted the exam mark at 50%. It meant that three hours of work, amounting to perhaps the word count of one TMA, should be considered equivalent to the production of six more considered and polished essays.
I note that level three literature courses have EMAs rather than exams. My feeling is that A230 ought to have an EMA also, so that the kind of thinking being examined is the same thinking that the coursework seems designed to teach.

Heather Lynn Gout

Course starting: October 2017

Review posted: August 2018

very enjoyable module, challenging and really opened up a lot of literature to me.

Course starting: October 2016

Review posted: June 2018

Please note

Each of the views expressed above is an individual's very particular response, largely unedited, and should be viewed with that in mind. Since modules are subject to regular updating, some of the issues identified may have already been addressed. In some instances the faculty may have provided a response to a comment. If you have a query about a particular module, please contact your Regional Centre.

Enter a module code to find a review

To send us reviews on modules you have studied with us, please click the sign in button below.