Skip to content The Open University

Student and tutor module reviews

The making of Welsh history

see module description

  • Points: 60
  • Code: A329
  • Level: 3
On this page

Student reviews

I would heartily recommend this module to any student contemplating taking it. The tuition, guidance and support from the tutors, A329 module team and other students were fantastic, and were integral to my understanding of the module material and thus getting the result I wanted.

The module is structured slightly different to previous modules I have done but I enjoyed the fact that the online exercises (a small percentage of the tutor-marked assignment marks) could be completed at your own pace and chosen at will, from a wide selection. I can honestly say, whatever facet of history interests you the most (political, social, economic etc.), you are sure to find the exercises cover a wide range of topics and are tailored with this in mind, as are the tutor-marked assignments.

Researching and writing your own dissertation was another treat, although the dreaded Covid-19 may have put paid to this for many, the invaluable skills that this module teaches you with regards to this advanced level of writing, will surely be very useful to anyone considering an MA or a PhD.

This was my second OU level 3 module and I felt this module complemented the other module entirely, in regards of how to study history objectively and analytically.

For me, this module was an eye-opener into Welsh history, and I came away with some of my preconceptions seriously challenged. I was born in Wales but grew up in England (from the age of 3), so thanks to all who helped me to learn so much in such a short time about the history of Wales.

Do yourself a favour; enrol now!

Philip Savory

Course starting: October 2019

Review posted: July 2020

Fascinating course, I had a lovely, very helpful teacher. I enjoyed just studying about Wales and England. The final paper is wonderful to do, as it is 6000 words long, giving you plenty of words to play with.

Sandra Moss Smith

Course starting: October 2018

Review posted: November 2019

Selection of your own topic for the final dissertation was the best thing I have done with the OU. Not only did I thoroughly enjoy it I also learned a lot about searching for, finding and analysing primary evidence from this process. The platform for this module was different from previous modules and gave much more student interaction which made me think more critically about my own attitudes toward the subject of nationality.

Clive Weed

Course starting: October 2017

Review posted: October 2018

This module was very enjoyable. I initially signed up because I thought it would be different to the standard historical pathway for my degree, and I was not wrong. The way it has been run by the brilliant tutors to the layout of the website made the course really quite enjoyable, and it really opened my mind up about Wales and its effect, not just locally, but on the world around it. I would recommend this course to anyone considering a OU level 3 course.

Chris Pendreigh

Course starting: October 2017

Review posted: October 2018

I was among the first group of students to participate in A329 The Making of Welsh History, which was my first level three module. It was quite different in format to all previous modules with an excellent and clear format. Students study a wide timeline of Welsh history in the first half of the year which I found very engaging, with themed blocks tailored to teach us the necessary skills needed to write a dissertation. Forum participation alongside your peers in small individual activities makes the module an enjoyable experience without feeling isolated by distance learning. Indeed, the forum work was my favourite part of the module due to the interaction and shared ideas.

The second half of the module focuses in producing a dissertation. I liked the freedom given to choose a topic of my own choice, only conditionally linked to a theme contained in the coursework. It is an exciting and very rewarding experience, which brings the wonderful history of Wales to life and gives the opportunity to contribute original work to the academic community. I would highly recommend this module to everyone, if I could participate in A329 again I would!

Sarah Bassett

Course starting: October 2017

Review posted: October 2018

I decided to choose A329 for a couple of reasons. I had sat 2 exam modules the previous year and looked for a module which offered me something different. The option of writing a dissertation sounded perfect for me. I also wanted to look at history from a much more local perspective.

A329 teaches you how to learn and share knowledge like an academic. It enables you to develop your skills of independent research but in a supported and directed way. It's a brilliant first step into delving into history by yourself but the support from the course, your tutors and the other students means that you never feel like you don't know what you're doing.

The online set up works really well and it allows for much more interaction with your fellow students which helps with the isolation that home study can bring. This module is a much more hands on way of learning and I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone who is passionate about history.

You do not need to speak Welsh, live in Wales or have any prior knowledge about Wales to fully engage with this course - I certainly didn't. All you need is the interest in tangible history - some of which you discover all by yourself.

Natalie Owsley

Course starting: October 2017

Review posted: October 2018

A329 was my last undergraduate module and one which I thoroughly enjoyed. This module allows for developing personal skills of research and critical analysis while being part of a supportive online community. The unusual aspect of the module is the way the use of the forums contribute to the assignment marks,(albeit only a small percentage)but the comments made by other students as well as those made by yourself form a very strong picture of the History of Wales. Many topics are covered in this way and different points of view of various events certainly add to your overall knowledge and aid in the task of writing the final dissertation.
Overall, I was very satisfied with this module and appreciated the support and constructive comments afforded by the tutors.

John Stanley Crane

Course starting: October 2017

Review posted: October 2018

From my perspective the online module design which culminated in a self-selected topic 6000-word dissertation was the best thing I have done with the OU so far.

I would whole heartedly recommend this course so long as you are up for an entirely online based course including online tutorials. It also benefits from no exam! It is hosted on Open edX and allows you to dip in and out of forums easily and so is perfect for the sort of collaborative activities we undertook throughout the module.

The highlight for me was the way the course was designed to encourage student dialogue and thus improve learning opportunities in a way that I had not yet experienced. I also thought that the course benefited from high levels of tutor/course director interaction as staff swiftly reacted to student feedback by making improvements (it was the first time it had been run) as the module progressed and that made for a sense that our student contributions were valued as well.

In summary a fantastic course and if this is an example of what the OU future holds, things are looking good.

Rodney Harward

Course starting: October 2017

Review posted: October 2018

I would highly recommend A329 for a number of reasons but especially the way it helped the student to develop some key academic skills. Amongst these were:
1. Literature searching skills especially finding relevant primary and secondary documents from online sources.
2. How to give constructive criticism
3. Collaborative working

Course starting: October 2017

Review posted: October 2018

This module was quite revolutionary and ground breaking, being totally online (with the exception of one set book). The course leader and tutors are incredibly helpful and supportive in guiding you through the process and I gained invaluable experience in searching for Primary and Secondary sources online and in analysing and comparing them. This approach provides a much wider depth of understanding of Welsh History than just reading a limited number of books. If you are looking for a totally immersive learning experience then I can thoroughly recommend this module to you.

Clive Price-Jones

Course starting: October 2017

Review posted: October 2018

Please note

Each of the views expressed above is an individual's very particular response, largely unedited, and should be viewed with that in mind. Since modules are subject to regular updating, some of the issues identified may have already been addressed. In some instances the faculty may have provided a response to a comment. If you have a query about a particular module, please contact your Regional Centre.

Enter a module code to find a review

To send us reviews on modules you have studied with us, please click the sign in button below.