Skip to content The Open University

Student and tutor module reviews

An introduction to business and management

see module description

  • Points: 60
  • Code: B100
  • Level: 1
On this page

Student reviews

A very worthwhile module to start a business qualification with. What I liked about it was that it encourages you to view issues from all angles before coming to a conclusion.

Personally I think it is best to do this as your only module if working full time and studying part time, but that may just be me.

Jack Davidson

Course starting: February 2018

Review posted: December 2018

This course provides the right amount of information for an OU level 1 introduction module. The course is well structured and diverse, providing a broad range of areas within the business world. Based on this module, you can see where your strengths lie after completing your tutor-marked assessments (TMAs) and can confidently choose a degree pathway if you so wish. The module websites and study guides
(books) are clearly laid out and provide opportunities to practice your understanding of each section. This module is quite full on and requires a lot of study time in order to fully excel at the TMAs. I would recommend taking this as a single module if you are part time rather than choosing more than one, especially if you haven't studied in a long time.

Claire Louise Smith

Course starting: October 2017

Review posted: October 2018

I found this course a great overall introduction into the world of Business and Management. The amount of reading required for this course is manageable, stay on track with the study planner and you will be fine.

The assignments consisted of tutor group work and case studies which I found to be enjoyable. Topics I thought I would love - I disliked. I have a new found interest for business ethics now!

If you are interested in Business and Management and are unsure of which route to go down this covers all of them!

Course starting: October 2017

Review posted: September 2018

A good introduction into the business world, opens your eyes to how broad the term 'business' really is.

The course contained a sample of the main business functions which made me rethink what kind of job role I would wish to work in.

There was a lot of initial panic from students when it was time to learn about analysing financial statements etc. as the first thing that comes to mind is they don't know much about bookeeping, but this actually had no relevence to what we were actually tasked to learn.Luckily in my case I had a great tutor, also the material was written well in the books to study from.

This module took me 20 hours or more per week on average but sometimes less, as this was my first module and so learning academic practices such as referencing and note taking also come into it.

Benjamin James Sharrock

Course starting: October 2015

Review posted: January 2017

Please note

Each of the views expressed above is an individual's very particular response, largely unedited, and should be viewed with that in mind. Since modules are subject to regular updating, some of the issues identified may have already been addressed. In some instances the faculty may have provided a response to a comment. If you have a query about a particular module, please contact your Regional Centre.

Enter a module code to find a review

To send us reviews on modules you have studied with us, please click the sign in button below.