Skip to content The Open University

Student and tutor module reviews

Management practice

see module description

  • Points: 30
  • Code: B123
  • Level: 1
On this page

Student reviews

This module kept me very busy. At the time it felt a bit tedious and I didn't immediately feel I was learning much but now nearly a year past finishing it, I recognise the benefits of having studied B123.
It really has proved useful and would recommend it to anyone.

Course starting: October 2017

Review posted: April 2019

As others have said this was extremely time consuming for 30 credits, but I have actually learned valuable management theories that I'm sure will be used in further studies and real life workplace.

Course starting: April 2018

Review posted: October 2018

This was an incredibly time consuming course for only 30 credits. This was the third module I have completed and by far the hardest to get through with content, and at times it felt repetitive. Continually being asked to review your work and then asked "now you have reviewed your work how do you feel about it"....there are only so many words!

However saying all of that, I really enjoyed the clear guidance of the plan, and if you do all the many many tasks within it, you cant fail.

On a practical note, I don't think I could have gotten through my first 6 months as a manager, without it. It really helped me gain perspective and I do feel I learnt a lot.

I would recommend it but to expect to not have a weekend throughout the whole process!

Course starting: October 2015

Review posted: November 2016

Extremely fun course which has proven extremely useful in my career. It allows you to see business functions from a different perspective.

Moreover, with reflective learning, it was obvious to me how much I actually learnt with this module! Would highly recommend.

Course starting: October 2015

Review posted: August 2016

Well, I had a real love/hate relationship with this one!

I've studied science in the past, and was studying B120 alongside this, and can confirm that B123 has a very unique approach. The course feels extremely subjective, and is based on self reflection and application of theory, rather than feeling like a conventional course.

The workload was high for a level 1, 30-credit module, which was compounded by the requirement to complete every activity and submit them with the TMAs.

The course also contained some repetition, and guidance wasn't particularly clear for some of the sessions. The TGF participation was extremely frustrating, as you're reliant on other students responding to posts and engaging in conversation.

Also, word of warning, I feel that, regardless of what the description says, experience of employment is mandatory to understand this course.

However, having said all that, the course did push me to really study. I mean really study, not just read stuff, and it was far more challenging than B120, which also made it more engaging (for me).

When all's said and done, I completed the module, gained a distinction, and would choose this course again if I had to. There is room for improvement though, and be prepared to adopt a different approach.

Course starting: April 2015

Review posted: November 2015

This was my third OU module. There is only one reference book and the rest of the content is online, which was a big relief. I must say in the beginning I was really worried, because I have never been in a managerial position before. However, I really wanted to understand what management is about.

I thought there was a lot of reading involved, it is wise to allocate yourself time for that. However I found the readings to be very interesting and realistic, and applicable to my work. Some concepts I was able to immediately apply to my job.

B123 was so far the most intense OU module I have done, but also the most enjoyable. After the EMA I was completely exhausted, but utterly pleased that I took this course. A big thank you to the tutor who was ever so patient and willing to guide me even though it was difficult to grasp certain things in the beginning. He played a major role in helping me pass this module.

I highly recommend it.

Julie Whitford

Course starting: October 2014

Review posted: August 2015

Please note

Each of the views expressed above is an individual's very particular response, largely unedited, and should be viewed with that in mind. Since modules are subject to regular updating, some of the issues identified may have already been addressed. In some instances the faculty may have provided a response to a comment. If you have a query about a particular module, please contact your Regional Centre.

Enter a module code to find a review

To send us reviews on modules you have studied with us, please click the sign in button below.