Skip to content The Open University

Student and tutor module reviews

Managing 1: organisations and people

see module description

  • Points: 30
  • Code: B628
  • Level: 3

Student reviews

One of my favourite courses. I had just changed careers, and the course material was so relevant to the workplace, that it was almost a match made in heaven. I attained my best exam results also, so that was the icing on the cake. Great tutor, and great day schools. For anyone studying business, I can thoroughly recommend this course.

Gavin Poulsom

Course starting: April 2015

Review posted: April 2016

This was an interesting course that consolidated complex managerial concepts in an easy to read book which identified the important advantages and disadvantages of the concepts for you to use. It was a good module with practical guides for managers to use in the workplace.

The only danger I think is that there is not enough detail about alternative approaches which are equally valid (which I have studied in other OU modules). Hence, someone only doing this course has a limited set of tools to use in the work-place - some of which may not be relevant or give over-confidence to a new user who does not fully understand the complexity of organisational life.

Nevertheless, the module gives a firm grounding to any individual who are looking for ways of improving their work practice. There are a series of activities that forces you to think and reflect on your own practice. Personally, I found these very useful as I applied the concepts from the readings to better explain things that happen at work. However, you are not given feedback on these and for this reason, there is the feeling that you would never really know whether you have understood the concepts correctly or used them appropriately.


I would recommend the module - I have done it as part of my degree. For those of you wanting to get high marks I would recommend acquinting yourself with the supporting text the main book comes with. There is a section on problem solving that is highly relevant to the work you do in the module. For instance, knowling how to do fish-bone and multiple cause diagramming. There is little mention of this in the module and you are expected to include these concepts in your TMAs and EMA - hence, the onus is on you to want to pass this module. That being said it is not really difficult to pass.

Darius Sergei Mayhew

Course starting: May 2011

Review posted: April 2012

I took this course as an option towards BA (Hons) in Business Studies rather than the Professional Certificate in Management. The weekly course activities make you look at how you can apply concepts and theories to where you work, and reflect on how you can improve your performance as a manager.

I found most of the activities interesting and I did learn a lot from them and the posts of other students but you have to be comfortable posting your answers on the forum. A lot of the concepts I was familiar with from other L1 and L2 courses I had done with the OU. The activities make up 30% of the marks for the 2 TMAs and the EMA and there are up to 5 activities per week so good time management helps.

The 2 day schools were worth attending and I found them very useful particularly when I came to do the EMA which was challenging.

Course starting: November 2010

Review posted: August 2011

The course was very comprehensive in terms of organisational and people management. The material contained in the course book was well written and structured. It is a course I would recommend to anyone wanting a "fast-track" learning option to management. There is a lot of commitment required from the learner on the course, but every moment of it is worth the while.

Gloria Adwo Akesi Chinebuah

Course starting: May 2010

Review posted: May 2011

I studied this course and its partners B629 and B690 as I started my management career in a technology company. I get a lot of training through my employer and this course has given me confidence and credentials as a professional manager, that are widely recognised.

The reflective nature of the learning is a challenge to many, but gives you better insight and vision as a manager.
The key to success on this course is to form a study group. Enter the course with the plan and idea that you will host one as you sign up as its important that you have diversity of views to tackle the problems. I spoke to my employer and they were able to permit me to use office meeting rooms to host the group.

Kevin Lynch

Course starting: May 2010

Review posted: May 2011

A very good course, the tutor was supportive and helpful providing further guidance when needed. The day schools were very helpful and give everyone a chance to meet each other and discuss the course materials in more depth. There was quite a lot of work in this course as the work you do every week makes up a large part of the final mark so you need to keep on top of things. I made the mistake of not doing this initially and found myself rushing to get the weekly work done before I even attempted the assignment.
I got a good final mark for both the TMAs and the EMA (which was in a similar format to the TMAS but you needed to incorporate lots of different course concepts and the word count is much larger).
This course really makes you think and apply academic theory within your own job role, it has also improved my ability to produce good reports which is very useful.

Nina Rawlinson

Course starting: November 2009

Review posted: November 2010

Day schools very helpful although some information that was covered in the first one was repeated again at the second e.g. report structure and marking criteria.

Guidelines for assignments were very clear. Marked assignments with tutor's comments were useful. Text books generally very good with clear, concise information. However an index would have been really useful as I was constantly flicking through the books looking for definitions and course concepts. Also a glossary of management terms would have been very useful.

Weekly activities and reading gave structure to the course and really helped me manage my time. Activities were all relevant and mostly required you to apply the course concepts to your own work situation, which was good preparation for assignments.

I found the online library difficult to use and I wasn't sure whether I needed to be reading books and articles other than the OU textbooks.

Finally, my tutor was excellent - the fact that he contributed a lot to the discussions on the course forums was very helpful and his sense of humour made the day schools a lot of fun!

Course starting: November 2009

Review posted: October 2010

very good

Course starting: November 2009

Review posted: October 2010

Please note

Each of the views expressed above is an individual's very particular response, largely unedited, and should be viewed with that in mind. Since modules are subject to regular updating, some of the issues identified may have already been addressed. In some instances the faculty may have provided a response to a comment. If you have a query about a particular module, please contact your Regional Centre.

Top

Module satisfaction survey

The figures below are taken from a survey of students who sat the exam/completed the end-of-module assessment for the October 2016 presentation of B628. The survey was carried out in 2017.

61 students (a response rate of 24.2%) responded to the survey covering what they thought of 10 aspects of the module.

Please note that if the percentage of students who responded to this module survey is below 30% and/or the number of responses is below 23 it means that only a small proportion of students provided feedback and their views as shown here may not be fully representative of all students who studied the module.

See this page for the full text of questions and more information about the survey.

% Count
Overall, I am satisfied with the quality of this module 88.5 54
Overall, I am satisfied with my study experience 90.2 55
The module provided good value for money 71.2 42
I was satisfied with the support provided by my tutor/study adviser on this module 85.2 52
Overall, I was satisfied with the teaching materials provided on this module 90.2 55
The learning outcomes of the module were clearly stated 90.2 55
I would recommend this module to other students 83.6 51
The module met my expectations 82 50
I enjoyed studying this module 82 50
Overall, I was able to keep up with the workload on this module 82 50
Faculty comment: "The figures from the 2017 survey continue to reflect relatively high levels of student satisfaction, across a range of different metrics, with over 90% of respondents agreeing with the statement, ""Overall I am satisfied with my study experience"". The module team is pleased to see that the students continue to enjoy the module and find it a successful part of their studies in business. "
Enter a module code to find a review

To send us reviews on modules you have studied with us, please click the sign in button below.