Skip to content The Open University

Student and tutor module reviews

Managing 1: organisations and people - online version

see module description

  • Points: 30
  • Code: BZX628
  • Level: 3

Student reviews

A very thought provoking course which enabled me to put theory into practice within the workplace. The best course I have done so far and the tutor was on hand throughout. Really enjoyed the course although it was a little daunting at the beginning as I had jumped from level 2 to 3 without completing all of the level 2 modules but amazed myself with how I was able to undertake the work requirements and keep on track. Highly recommended.

Course starting: May 2014

Review posted: January 2015

Good course, goes at a better pace than BZX629.

Alan Broad

Course starting: May 2013

Review posted: May 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed this course. Tutor was excellent, students were great to engage with, workload was adequate and to top it off I got a great final grade. I did the online version which hosts tutorials over the internet as opposed to classroom which really fit in with my work/social life. It is a Level 3 course however so it isn't a walkover but with a bit of common sense and hard work you'll get a lot out of it. Would definitely recommend.

Arlan Kotb

Course starting: November 2011

Review posted: August 2012

This course was very interesting as it fits with my current job. I could start applying all gained knowledge immediately. Workbooks were adequately prepared to reflect content of each chapter. It was very intensive for me as a non English native speaker to read all but it was definitely worthwhile. It was wonderful experience!

Alisa Hozo

Course starting: May 2009

Review posted: October 2010

I enjoyed this course and would recommend it to anyone who either needs to select a Level 3 business course for a degree, or is looking at the Professional Certificate in Management.

If you are in a managerial position, the course content will make you a better manager. Better at identifying problems, analysing them and creating high quality solutions. It will also enable better people management skills.
Not being in a managerial position requires a bit of creative imagination when tackling the activities, but should not stop anyone from studying this course.

The course material is excellent, well written and easy to read. It certainly makes you think and look at business organisations and the people management from a new perspective.

Petra Wolf

Course starting: May 2009

Review posted: March 2010

I thoroughly enjoyed BZX628. Unlike a lot of the other courses in the BABS programme, this course takes a problem-based approach where you regularly look at problems in your workplace, such as an employee who is performing badly, and create a report on how you are / did solve the problem and relate your experience with the course theory.

In terms of workload, the course is reasonable and perfectly achievable for most people. The start, in particular, is easy going, but I found that the later part of the course requires you to keep on task with the activities as they are a lot more detailed and often require you to do things in your workplace or at least have a real think about the problem you are having. Unfortunately, I was a little behind at this stage and found this bit particularly hard to keep on top of - but, luckily, I managed it and walked away with a distinction on this course.

The ECA is actually pretty tough. It's no real difference to the other assignments, so if you can do well on them, you are most likely going to do well on the ECA. The problem I found was that I just didn't want to let go and kept panicking as I was never sure whether I had done enough. Also, the ECA is quite flexible and sometimes this can lead you to question yourself. But, the tutor support was excellent, and they are great for giving you some helpful pointers and keeping you on track.

The forums were very, and I mean very, lively and the moderators were brilliant. I seriously recommend everyone looks at these as chances are other students will be having the same problems / questions. Also, the moderators gave us some very useful resources which helped a lot.

In summary, this is an exceptional course and the Course Team deserve a pat on the back. I look forward to doing B629 in the near future which I am sure will be just as enjoyable.

Danny Rowe

Course starting: May 2009

Review posted: February 2010

Top

Tutor reviews

The Module Team would like to thank students who have provided us with feedback and are pleased that you have found BZX628 to be such an enjoyable and useful module. The module is designed to be challenging. We aim for the effort you make to result in knowledge that is applicable and helpful in your role at work. We value the data provided by the survey and reviews to help us to know where we can improve students' experience of BZX628.
Best wishes,
The BZX628 Module Team

Review posted: October 2012

Please note

Each of the views expressed above is an individual's very particular response, largely unedited, and should be viewed with that in mind. Since modules are subject to regular updating, some of the issues identified may have already been addressed. In some instances the faculty may have provided a response to a comment. If you have a query about a particular module, please contact your Regional Centre.

Top

Module satisfaction survey

The figures below are taken from a survey of students who sat the exam/completed the end-of-module assessment for the October 2016 presentation of BZX628. The survey was carried out in 2017.

47 students (a response rate of 24.2%) responded to the survey covering what they thought of 10 aspects of the module.

Please note that if the percentage of students who responded to this module survey is below 30% and/or the number of responses is below 23 it means that only a small proportion of students provided feedback and their views as shown here may not be fully representative of all students who studied the module.

See this page for the full text of questions and more information about the survey.

% Count
Overall, I am satisfied with the quality of this module 93.5 43
Overall, I am satisfied with my study experience 89.4 42
The module provided good value for money 76.1 35
I was satisfied with the support provided by my tutor/study adviser on this module 91.5 43
Overall, I was satisfied with the teaching materials provided on this module 93.6 44
The learning outcomes of the module were clearly stated 89.4 42
I would recommend this module to other students 85.1 40
The module met my expectations 82.6 38
I enjoyed studying this module 80.9 38
Overall, I was able to keep up with the workload on this module 74.5 35
Faculty comment: "The figures from the 2017 survey continue to reflect relatively high levels of student satisfaction, across a range of different metrics, with over 90% of respondents agreeing with the statement, ""Overall I am satisfied with my study experience"". The module team is pleased to see that those students who responded continue to enjoy the module and find it a successful part of their studies in business. "
Enter a module code to find a review

To send us reviews on modules you have studied with us, please click the sign in button below.