Skip to content The Open University

Student and tutor module reviews

Investigating psychology 1

see module description

  • Points: 60
  • Code: DE100
  • Level: 1
On this page

Student reviews

I found this module fascinating, and very good, it teaches you the basics of psychology and also how to do research and using qualitative and quantitive data.
I went to the day schools and also did the online tutorials as well, you get out of the module what you put in. Students were all helpful as well as the tutors as well. A well organised module.

Helen Sansome

Course starting: October 2018

Review posted: October 2019

I recently completed this module. I studied this module alongside DD102. Of the two modules, DE100 was my favourite. I loved attending day schools and meeting my wonderful tutor and fellow students. I loved the assignments. I loved that the quizzes provided on the website helped us prepare and get a good mark on the interactive computer-marked assignment. Which in turn helped us on final assignments. I loved writing the project report, it was really fun. It was great to try experiments and correlational studies for ourselves during the module.

Course starting: October 2018

Review posted: August 2019

I loved this module I found it to be very engaging and loved the assignment booklet that came with it. I found it to be a massive help with explaining what was required for each individual assignment this resulted in me being able to understand the assignments a lot better which helped me produce a better standard of work.
The topics you learn about throughout this module where really interesting however I did find the end-of-module assessment a bit of a struggle compared with my tutor-marked assignments but I still really enjoyed the over all module and feel its a brilliant starting point for anyone who has a strong interest in psychology.

Course starting: October 2018

Review posted: August 2019

I have just completed this module and found it enjoyable. Do not let the statistical part of the module put you off choosing this module, you are given guidance and the tutors are very supportive. Taking part in the research was also a good introduction to research methods. I would happily recommend this module.

Course starting: October 2018

Review posted: August 2019

I enjoyed this module as there was an interesting balance between psychology theory and practical application. The mix of printed materials and AV materials helped keep things engaging.

The student community was poor and I felt that there was very little sense of student cohesion or 'togetherness', though this is a theme of many modules I've done with the OU. Tutor feedback was precise.

The structure of the module is sufficiently varied so that no theme or concept seems to become too onerous. I'd recommend this module for anyone interested in psychology and believe it's been a good foundation in my psychology studies.

Course starting: October 2015

Review posted: February 2017

I specifically chose Psychology as I wanted to understand my own mental health disorders in depth. I have manic depression, complex psychosocial background and cervical lordosis. Just last week I have been told that I have PTSD. I must say that I don't know how I get through these courses with everything going on in my life - but I do. I am very proud of my achievements so far. I will keep going with it lovely people. If I can do it so can you.

Course starting: October 2015

Review posted: November 2016

I liked the content of the course, not too much reading and very interesting. The course is a great building block to DE200.

Course starting: February 2015

Review posted: February 2016

Please note

Each of the views expressed above is an individual's very particular response, largely unedited, and should be viewed with that in mind. Since modules are subject to regular updating, some of the issues identified may have already been addressed. In some instances the faculty may have provided a response to a comment. If you have a query about a particular module, please contact your Regional Centre.

Enter a module code to find a review

To send us reviews on modules you have studied with us, please click the sign in button below.