Skip to content The Open University

Student and tutor module reviews

Environment: sharing a dynamic planet

see module description

  • Points: 60
  • Code: DST206
  • Level: 2

Student reviews

I enjoyed this module a lot. Initially I found the social science way of using a "toolkit" to "unwrap the problem" a little difficult and puzzling but soon got the hang of it and to my surprise found I relished this multidisciplinary way of looking at environmental issues.

The case studies are numerous, varied, and very interesting although may sometimes leave you feeling there is little good news on the environmental front, however more positive case studies feature in the second half of the module. Whatever aspect of the environment you are interested in there will be case studies that spark your interest.

The final section of this module reinforces the use of the "toolkit" and goes a long way to trying to ensure students know how to use the "toolkit" together with the case studies, all good preparation for the exam. An enthusiastic and helpful tutor just rounded off a really well put together module which I would highly recommend to anyone interested in our environment.

Rosie Filipiak

Course starting: October 2014

Review posted: September 2015

An engaging, well-planned and comprehensive look at contemporary environmental issues.

The module is taught with a multidisciplinary approach, incorporating both the natural (biology, chemistry, physics) and social (politics & economics) sciences, offering a holistic look at the interaction between them. Don't worry if you're not familiar with one of these scientific disciplines, as the module is very well-paced when building up your knowledge of the issues.

I'd strongly recommend the module to anybody interested in our interaction with the environment, and it's by far my most enjoyable to date.

Adam Hayward

Course starting: October 2013

Review posted: May 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of studying this course - by far the best course I have ever done.

Many thanks both to the module team for putting everything together in such a fascinating way and also my tutor for his enthusiasm both for the subject matter and for helping us maximise our enjoyment/understanding of the course.

If you're considering doing this course, get your booking in now!

Elaine Shaw

Course starting: October 2013

Review posted: February 2015

I really enjoyed this course. As a new module, there were a few hiccups which had to be addressed on the way through, however, these were dealt with very well. There was a lot of support throughout, with a good emphasis on revision.

I would recommend this course to anyone who would like to learn more about environmental politics and how human, earth and animals interconnect.

Sophie Anne Lloyd

Course starting: October 2013

Review posted: January 2015

Please note

Each of the views expressed above is an individual's very particular response, largely unedited, and should be viewed with that in mind. Since modules are subject to regular updating, some of the issues identified may have already been addressed. In some instances the faculty may have provided a response to a comment. If you have a query about a particular module, please contact your Regional Centre.

Top

Module satisfaction survey

The figures below are taken from a survey of students who sat the exam/completed the end-of-module assessment for the October 2016 presentation of DST206. The survey was carried out in 2017.

79 students (a response rate of 25.2%) responded to the survey covering what they thought of 10 aspects of the module.

Please note that if the percentage of students who responded to this module survey is below 30% and/or the number of responses is below 23 it means that only a small proportion of students provided feedback and their views as shown here may not be fully representative of all students who studied the module.

See this page for the full text of questions and more information about the survey.

% Count
Overall, I am satisfied with the quality of this module 88.6 70
Overall, I am satisfied with my study experience 79.2 61
The module provided good value for money 62.3 48
I was satisfied with the support provided by my tutor/study adviser on this module 79.7 63
Overall, I was satisfied with the teaching materials provided on this module 84.6 66
The learning outcomes of the module were clearly stated 92.4 73
I would recommend this module to other students 87.2 68
The module met my expectations 80.8 63
I enjoyed studying this module 85.9 67
Overall, I was able to keep up with the workload on this module 74.7 59
Faculty comment: "We are pleased that such a very high proportion of respondents were satisfied with its quality (88.6%), the teaching materials (84.6%), and their study experience (80.8%), all of which are amongst the highest in the faculty. We are also pleased that 92.4% felt that the module met its stated learning outcomes as this is a good indicator of effective module design, something that is also reflected in the very high proportion who stated that it met their expectations (80.8%), that they would recommend it to other students (87.2%), and that they enjoyed it (85.9%), as well as this module's excellent retention and pass rates. "
Enter a module code to find a review

To send us reviews on modules you have studied with us, please click the sign in button below.