Skip to content The Open University

Student and tutor module reviews

Introduction to childhood studies and child psychology

see module description

  • Points: 60
  • Code: E102
  • Level: 1
On this page

Student reviews

I have really enjoyed this module. The content has been really interesting and I have managed to get lots of access to tutorials which have helped enormously. My tutor was helpful in all her feedback, and I found it not only helped me understand my background, but also understand my own children a little better - would highly recommend it, and you don't need to be a genius to do it - I am most definitely not!

Course starting: October 2020

Review posted: May 2022

This is a challenging module but it is also as expected for the level. As someone who has studied childhood development, I already had a heads up for many of the topics it covered, such as learning theories. It can be a lot to take in for someone with no previous knowledge. This module is great as it is easy to complete without working alongside children. I would recommend this module, it has definitely helped my professional development.

Course starting: October 2019

Review posted: April 2021

This is a really good module which i highly recommend if you are interested in working with children. It is a mix between psychology and childhood studies which was quite interesting how it was incorporated together. My tutor was fantastic, very supportive and helpful.

Course starting: October 2019

Review posted: February 2021

I enjoyed this module, my tutor was very helpful and I gained academic writing skills as well as the basics of psychology. It definately helped my progress.

Kirsty Helen Marie Cox

Course starting: October 2019

Review posted: August 2020

This module was a great starting point for my studies. If you are unsure on academic writing or feel you lack the skills this module will help you to achieve the skill and give you the confidence to do better in your writing skills.

In addition, you learn some of the basics to childhood studies and psychology.

Combined with the basics of the childhood studies and psychology and learning how to write your assignments academically through the module it is a great starting point.

I feel this module has prepared me for my 2nd module which I will take this year

Ryan Mitchell

Course starting: October 2019

Review posted: July 2020

I found this module very inciteful. It is an absolutely perfect module to get back in to learning and start your journey of with the OU as it allows opportunity to learn about how to write essays and what is expected. I found the content fun and interesting to study.

Christiana Jacobi

Course starting: October 2018

Review posted: January 2020

I took this module as I had a keen interest in childhood studies and child phycology, however I found that it was a lot more challenging than I had first thought. I found it lacked with regards to how the assignments where presented to me with very little information about what was required of me. I feel this module would have been better if it came with an assignment booklet with a bit of an explanation of what was required. Despite this if you have a keen interest in childhood studies and child psychology I wouldn't let this put you off as there is some interesting topics that you will learn about on this module.

Course starting: October 2018

Review posted: August 2019

This module was the first I completed with the OU, being out of education for many years, I found understanding the academic writing, and requirements hard to get my head round. Within this module there is a lot to get your head around, however I thoroughly enjoyed the materials covered, such interesting topics were available keeping me very motivated to take on the work load. I felt incredibly proud to say I learnt a lot from this module and finished with a pass.

Course starting: October 2017

Review posted: April 2019

A interesting course and the workload was manageable.

Course starting: October 2017

Review posted: March 2019

Very interesting course, quite heavy on the theory side but this has been useful in my other modules. Highly recommend this module, my tutor was fantastic.

Course starting: October 2017

Review posted: March 2019

A fantastic way of introducing psychology and childhood education, overall it was tad boring and felt some of the tutor-marked assignments and module work was dragging along, but there was sufficient help, and I passed the module.

Course starting: October 2017

Review posted: February 2019

Please note

Each of the views expressed above is an individual's very particular response, largely unedited, and should be viewed with that in mind. Since modules are subject to regular updating, some of the issues identified may have already been addressed. In some instances the faculty may have provided a response to a comment. If you have a query about a particular module, please contact your Regional Centre.

Enter a module code to find a review

To send us reviews on modules you have studied with us, please click the sign in button below.