Skip to content The Open University

Student and tutor module reviews

Introduction to childhood studies and child psychology

see module description

  • Points: 60
  • Code: E102
  • Level: 1
On this page

Student reviews

This module was a great starting point for my studies. If you are unsure on academic writing or feel you lack the skills this module will help you to achieve the skill and give you the confidence to do better in your writing skills.

In addition, you learn some of the basics to childhood studies and psychology.

Combined with the basics of the childhood studies and psychology and learning how to write your assignments academically through the module it is a great starting point.

I feel this module has prepared me for my 2nd module which I will take this year

Ryan Mitchell

Course starting: October 2019

Review posted: July 2020

I found this module very inciteful. It is an absolutely perfect module to get back in to learning and start your journey of with the OU as it allows opportunity to learn about how to write essays and what is expected. I found the content fun and interesting to study.

Christiana Jacobi

Course starting: October 2018

Review posted: January 2020

I took this module as I had a keen interest in childhood studies and child phycology, however I found that it was a lot more challenging than I had first thought. I found it lacked with regards to how the assignments where presented to me with very little information about what was required of me. I feel this module would have been better if it came with an assignment booklet with a bit of an explanation of what was required. Despite this if you have a keen interest in childhood studies and child psychology I wouldn't let this put you off as there is some interesting topics that you will learn about on this module.

Course starting: October 2018

Review posted: August 2019

This module was the first I completed with the OU, being out of education for many years, I found understanding the academic writing, and requirements hard to get my head round. Within this module there is a lot to get your head around, however I thoroughly enjoyed the materials covered, such interesting topics were available keeping me very motivated to take on the work load. I felt incredibly proud to say I learnt a lot from this module and finished with a pass.

Course starting: October 2017

Review posted: April 2019

A interesting course and the workload was manageable.

Course starting: October 2017

Review posted: March 2019

Very interesting course, quite heavy on the theory side but this has been useful in my other modules. Highly recommend this module, my tutor was fantastic.

Course starting: October 2017

Review posted: March 2019

A fantastic way of introducing psychology and childhood education, overall it was tad boring and felt some of the tutor-marked assignments and module work was dragging along, but there was sufficient help, and I passed the module.

Course starting: October 2017

Review posted: February 2019

Very disappointed with this module, I actively did not submit one of the required TMA's due to finding it incredibly sexist and bias, men might as well not exist in regard to this module. A real let down!

Zachary Pomeroy

Course starting: October 2017

Review posted: December 2018

Faculty response

As a module team we take all student feedback seriously and have reviewed E102 in light of your comments. In the E102 assessment materials, we don’t see anti-male bias. In the module content concerned with parenting, we do discuss more research on mothers than fathers. This is because, to date, almost all of the psychology research has been carried out with mothers. We think that this is a dated and ‘normative’ view of who cares for children, and this is why the rest of E102 refers to ‘parents’ and ‘parenting’ instead. Indeed, as studying E102 goes beyond psychology to focus on childhood studies, on this module we explore how children, parenting and childhoods differ according to culture and over time. As we update the module we will continue to attend to issues such as gender, identities and stereotyping.

This was my first experience of study at this level and I found it very informative and it provided some diverse topics with plenty of information available. I really enjoyed it and it helped me decide which study path I wanted to follow.

Chantelle Jones

Course starting: October 2015

Review posted: May 2017

I believe this course is completely manageable the workload is not too intense. However I found it very boring, therefore struggled to motivate myself to complete weekly activities and TMAs due to a lack of interest. I am sure many students loved the contents of the course however I just did not find it that insightful and felt as though I was not gaining any new knowledge.

I would recommend it as a first module due to it being easy to manage and not being too time consuming.

Course starting: October 2015

Review posted: March 2017

I found this module so exciting because my interest in this module had been shaped by many factors that made my study experience easy to grasp what I was supposed to do. Though it hasn't been an easy journey, I had good tutors who helped and supported me to develop my study skills. After studying this course, I believe I have been equipped and have developed the skills to handle the challenges of working with children of different ages and needs and their aspirations.

Course starting: October 2014

Review posted: June 2016

Overall an interesting start to my psychology degree. The material covered is interesting and the assignments are moderately difficult, despite this difficulty once you know what is required in the assignments it is easier. The tutor support is satisfactory, however you get back what you put in to this relationship so if you have any questions or queries make sure you voice them to your tutor.

Course starting: October 2014

Review posted: June 2016

Really enjoyed this module, but I felt the TMAs and EMA could have been better worded. It was my first module and I learned a lot from the module which gave me a different perspective when looking at childhoods globally.

Course starting: October 2014

Review posted: June 2016

I loved this module, the course work load was just right for level 1 and my tutor was helpful the whole way through. The content was thoroughly interesting and easy to engage with and well structured. I highly recommend this course.

Course starting: October 2014

Review posted: March 2016

This module is an interesting introduction to psychology. However I would advise anyone looking to take it to make sure you have an interest in childhood studies.

Course starting: October 2014

Review posted: January 2016

Please note

Each of the views expressed above is an individual's very particular response, largely unedited, and should be viewed with that in mind. Since modules are subject to regular updating, some of the issues identified may have already been addressed. In some instances the faculty may have provided a response to a comment. If you have a query about a particular module, please contact your Regional Centre.

Enter a module code to find a review

To send us reviews on modules you have studied with us, please click the sign in button below.