Skip to content The Open University

Student and tutor module reviews

Foundations for social work practice

see module description

  • Points: 60
  • Code: K113
  • Level: 1

Student reviews

A thought provoking course of which I thoroughly enjoyed. The tutorial support and course materials were excellent. The tutor had a breadth of knowledge and was extremely supportive. The workshops were structured well and helped to understand theory relating to practice. Would definitely recommend to others.

Course starting: January 2010

Review posted: January 2011

Unfortunately I didn't enjoy this course. The TMA questions - including the examinable essay component - were far too ambiguous; a view I believe many of my fellow student peers shared. It may depend on the tutor but I felt that ours was reluctant to help with this problem. I would advise that if future students feel the same they 'voice' their concerns
'collectively' and preferably at the beginning of the course rather than wait until they reach their end assignment as I believe respective marks would greatly improve with clearer questions or clear support to understand them.

Course starting: January 2008

Review posted: December 2008

The course material was good and well planned. However, the TMA questions were ambiguous at times and this caused considerable concern among the students. The workshops -although time consuming - were well worth the effort to attend. The tutors on this course were excellent, very supportive and always there for you at the end of the phone if need be. They gave great guidance throughout the course that contributed to a real learning experience.

Ellen Fahy

Course starting: January 2007

Review posted: July 2008

I did not really enjoy this course although I did learn a great deal. Workshops could have been organised better.

Course starting: January 2007

Review posted: June 2008

I really enjoyed this course but participants should be aware that a large chunk of the work is about writing reflectively about your own practice.

The course introduced interesting social work topics including the social work process.

Saturday workshops must be attended and were usually interesting with the opportunity to spend considerable time with your course tutor and fellow students analysing different scenarios.

A good introductory course to social work.

Mark Prowse

Course starting: January 2006

Review posted: July 2007

Please note

Each of the views expressed above is an individual's very particular response, largely unedited, and should be viewed with that in mind. Since modules are subject to regular updating, some of the issues identified may have already been addressed. In some instances the faculty may have provided a response to a comment. If you have a query about a particular module, please contact your Regional Centre.

Top

Module satisfaction survey

The figures below are taken from a survey of students who sat the exam/completed the end-of-module assessment for the February 2016 presentation of K113. The survey was carried out in 2016.

41 students (a response rate of 45.1%) responded to the survey covering what they thought of 10 aspects of the module.

Please note that if the percentage of students who responded to this module survey is below 30% and/or the number of responses is below 23 it means that only a small proportion of students provided feedback and their views as shown here may not be fully representative of all students who studied the module.

See this page for the full text of questions and more information about the survey.

% Count
Overall, I am satisfied with the quality of this module 87.8 36
Overall, I am satisfied with my study experience 82.5 33
The module provided good value for money 71.4 25
I was satisfied with the support provided by my tutor/study adviser on this module 75.6 31
Overall, I was satisfied with the teaching materials provided on this module 97.6 40
The learning outcomes of the module were clearly stated 100 41
I would recommend this module to other students 84.6 33
The module met my expectations 85.4 35
I enjoyed studying this module 90.2 37
Overall, I was able to keep up with the workload on this module 90.2 37
Faculty comment: We are pleased that students have fed back to us high levels of satisfaction in areas of as in workload management and student expectations of the module. The team have noted the value students have placed on support from their tutor and the role of workshops in their studies and have provided a number of additions to the tutorial strategy to enhance this aspect of the module
Enter a module code to find a review

To send us reviews on modules you have studied with us, please click the sign in button below.