Skip to content The Open University

Student and tutor module reviews

Promoting public health: skills, perspectives and practice

see module description

  • Points: 60
  • Code: K311
  • Level: 3

Student reviews

I must admit that I had a bit of a love-hate relationship with this module at times. Having said that, however, I feel it is the module that I learned the most from. I found the early TMAs challenging, although they did consolidate my learning. The EMA, though daunting to begin with, utilised the early TMA material so was fairly straightforward to complete.

Overall I would recommend this module, as although I found it difficult, the amount I learned during my study and my sense of achievement on getting a good pass far outweighed any negatives. I also feel I have taken away many tranferrable skills from this module.

Course starting: October 2015

Review posted: October 2016

I found this course extremely interesting although there was an incredible amount of reading, not forgetting the hard work. I got a lot from studying this course and it helped to shape my outlook for dealing with day to day events. This was a fast paced course so it is very important that you keep abreast with the study guide. If you put in the hard work you will most definitely receive a good result for your end of module assessment.
My tutor was amazing and the tutorials were very good along with the online forums. I certainly would recommend this course to others.

Diane Lawal

Course starting: October 2014

Review posted: March 2016

This is a course I initially really struggled to get my head around. My best advice is if in doubt, ask. Read in abundance and prepare for TMA 05 by working through each activity 1-4. The great news I passed my degree after ten years. One word, determination.
Total admiration goes to all my tutors for their support.

Christine Emily McMahon

Course starting: October 2014

Review posted: August 2015

K311 was by far the best module I have studied with the OU. I have been a student for 3 years now and I found this module very informative, demanding and was able to relate theory into practise within my working environment.

The tutor in Scotland was very supportive and on hand when required. What I did like, was the fact that if I made an enquiry, I recieved a response the same day which was perfect - especially if the querie was regarding the TMA.

TMAs are very demanding, so I suggest you give yourself plenty of time to draft, re-draft and submit the TMA in plenty of time. I definitely recommend any day schools if they become available as not only does this give you the opportunity to work with your tutor, but it also gives you the opportunity to meet your fellow colleagues. There are plenty of TGF exercises and support threads to help you along the way.

If your interest is in leisure, public health or healthcare, get yourself on this module. Well worth it.

David

Course starting: October 2013

Review posted: March 2015

This module is like a roller coaster. It starts with really interesting subjects such as the social determinants of health and different perspectives of public health. It then goes onto looking at types of research, which can be interesting as you pick your own topic from a selection.

Then a teamwork project comes along - which is ok in itself but the work around it is terribly boring. It slips into something even worse when looking at policy making, several times I just could not feel motivated to pick up my books.

Finally the last part involves looking at our learning journey and reflecting on it. If I had done this correctly from the start I would have done much better in my TMA but I was unsure what they were asking for. Even now I am unclear about what they asked.

Now - the whole reason I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS MODULE is - the EMA. You get to design and develop a public health intervention of your choice. This brings together all the parts of the module and it all starts to make sense at this point. If you have something in mind for this (like I did) keep it there for the whole module and relate each part (research/policies etc) to it as you go and it is a pleasure to bring it all together in a project.

I got just under a grade 2 pass for my OCAS and just under a grade 1 pass for my EMA but overall I got a grade 2. I was so pleased - and I believe my passion for the project on my EMA got me this result (either that or my writing suddenly improved in leaps and bounds).

Course starting: October 2013

Review posted: August 2014

As a student with dyslexia I would recommend this course to anyone wanting to study this module. I found this course interesting, enjoyable, learned new skills and made new friends at the tutorials. At times I found it difficult regarding the course material but with the support of my OU tutor throughout the course and support from my family and new friends at the OU I completed the course.

This course enabled me to go on to study other courses and as a result I am waiting to receive a Bachelor of Science (Honours) Open degree.

Course starting: February 2013

Review posted: August 2014

This Module is quite unique as it is one I would definitely recommend! The course has been running a while and its plain to see why the student feedback is so positive (essential to read when finalising a choice of module).

K311 is very well designed. There is a main course reader that guides the way through 5 structured TMAs, all of which can be seen to build towards the final EMA.

Fast responses from tutors on forums, good support from the face-to-face tutorials and thorough feedback from marked TMAs (all of which help to keep you on track). My tutor was particularly knowledgeable, flexible and helpful.

Together with this course comes a Certificate in Promoting Public Health and the permission to use Cert PPH(Open)after your name. Just a little bonus that can be easily missed!

There was a great deal of reflective learning content within this course, which took some adapting to. But of the 4 OU courses I've studied at level 2&3 I have gained the most transferrable skills from K311.

Course starting: February 2013

Review posted: January 2014

An interesting and varied course done to compliment maths, physics and history as a part of an Open Degree. There is a lot of self-directed learning and the course does direct you in self development. You learn to implement rather than just learn about a subject. I am a conservative and rather opinionated individual and this course did make me face issues that I found I had been very judgemental and dismissive over in the past. I haven't changed many of my views but at least I am more informed about them!

My tutor was great - we had a rocky start but she was genuinely helpful, fair and knew her stuff. It's not a new subject really but the approach is a socio-cultural exploration into changing attitudes, how to change attitudes and why it is important to change attitudes to health.

I got a Pass 1 which gave me a First Class Honours Degree as my last OU course so I was delighted. It was hard work in places and you do need to collaborate in your groups online but it's worth the effort. The ECA/project isn't as difficult as you think it needs to be and trust your tutor to guide you. Good luck and I hope you enjoy it as much as(on reflection) I genuinely did!

Richard Muirhead Paisley

Course starting: February 2012

Review posted: November 2013

Overall, this is a very good course. It was the third I've studied with the OU to date and the one I enjoyed the most, which was partly due to the help and support of a great tutor.

The TMAs are varied and quite challenging, but provided you apply the module concepts contained within both the main textbook (which, in its latest edition, is well edited and a pleasure to read) and the 'reader' shouldn't be too difficult - they just take a while to prepare. They also combine self study with online group work, which was a new experience for me and one I quite liked, along with three 'real' tutorials (although I only managed to attend the first one).

One hint, though - don't leave the EMA too late! It will require thorough editing and some research to do well in it, but designing your own health intervention using what you've learnt during the course is a good way to consolidate this learning.

The reading, despite what others may have commented, is easily manageable. Yes, there's quite a lot, but then the module represents a full academic year's worth of work on a part time basis so it's to be expected. However, it's well presented, relevant and (generally!) interesting. I was/am not in the health care industry, deciding to do this course simply out of curiosity, which didn't detract from its 'accessibility'.

The module also includes the Certificate in Promoting Public Health, so you can gain an additional qualification upon completing it in addition to another 60 credits - that can't be bad!

Finally, gaining a distinction pass in K311 certainly helped conclude my positive views of it!

Highly recommended - well done again, OU!

Course starting: February 2012

Review posted: February 2013

I found this course very intensive and required a lot of reading. I needed to spend around 15-18 hours a week as some of the theories and concepts were quite hard to understand at first and required a lot of studying.

The TMAs tested my knowledge and understanding of the course material and were not just straightforward essays but required you to understand the course through your own perspective and experiences.

The end-of-module assessment was taxing and required thought and time but my advice is to thoroughly cover the course material and put the work in to achieve a pass, there are no short cuts with this course!

The tutor was helpful and friendly and always got back to me to discuss things. The Open University staff were without exception, always helpful and professional and went out of their way to help me.

It has influenced my work as a staff nurse I am pleased to say and my practice is now very much user orientated despite working in a hospital ward setting which can be routinised.

I am glad to have achieved a grade 2 pass and happy to have learnt so much to influence my practice.

Course starting: February 2011

Review posted: January 2012

This was the first ever university course of any kind I have done, I really enjoyed the course, even on the days when I was having a break down thinking I would not pass. As someone new to university maybe going for a Level 3 course was not the best idea I have ever had but saying that, the course was interesting, yes it was hard work but worth it as I passed.

Would recommend to anyone!

Course starting: February 2011

Review posted: January 2012

This course is very informative, has lots of reading and is time consuming but above all it is really worth the price. Great tutor,very supportive. I enjoyed the course and can recommend it to anyone that is interested in health practice.

Course starting: February 2010

Review posted: May 2011

I have been a student with the Open University for a number of years and have enjoyed the courses I studied.

The last course was K311 which was interesting and a new experience to me as there was more online participation.
It would have been more user friendly if there had been an option of having hard copies of the Learning Guides and the Assessment Book.

I plan to study K311 again as I did not meet the required standard to gain a pass.

Note: Thanks to all the Tutors that I have met during my years of study and also all the Open University support people that have answered my questions when I telephoned.

Winifred Celine Doyle

Course starting: April 2010

Review posted: December 2010

This was my first Level 3 60 point course. I found the course work extremely interesting but spent many hours checking and double checking my work....this is a hard course. Many on my course complained on the forum about the workload but still carried on with it, mainly because it is very informative.

I received good TMA results but with a little bit more effort received an excellent ECA result.....well it was for me...it made me happy....and made all that hard work worth while.

My advise is not to give up, this is an excellent course.

Good Luck everyone
Chris

Course starting: February 2009

Review posted: March 2010

This was my first level 3 course and I'm pleased to say I achieved a grade three pass. The structure of the course was a departure from my usual style of study, however I found the tutor group forum an invaluable source of knowledge and comfort. My tutor's enthusiasm and energy even made some of the less interesting parts of the course come alive.

There is a lot of reading involved and good time management skills are essential. This is a course which requires the thinking cap to be worn permanently as the TMA's and in particular the ECA focus on critical analysis and critical thinking.

Overall a fascinating and absorbing course which is relevant to my career in social care. Thoroughly recommended.

John Warner

Course starting: February 2009

Review posted: December 2009

Please note

Each of the views expressed above is an individual's very particular response, largely unedited, and should be viewed with that in mind. Since modules are subject to regular updating, some of the issues identified may have already been addressed. In some instances the faculty may have provided a response to a comment. If you have a query about a particular module, please contact your Regional Centre.

Top

Module satisfaction survey

The figures below are taken from a survey of students who sat the exam/completed the end-of-module assessment for the October 2016 presentation of K311. The survey was carried out in 2017.

120 students (a response rate of 37.2%) responded to the survey covering what they thought of 10 aspects of the module.

Please note that if the percentage of students who responded to this module survey is below 30% and/or the number of responses is below 23 it means that only a small proportion of students provided feedback and their views as shown here may not be fully representative of all students who studied the module.

See this page for the full text of questions and more information about the survey.

% Count
Overall, I am satisfied with the quality of this module 86.4 102
Overall, I am satisfied with my study experience 84.7 100
The module provided good value for money 67.8 78
I was satisfied with the support provided by my tutor/study adviser on this module 87 100
Overall, I was satisfied with the teaching materials provided on this module 82.1 96
The learning outcomes of the module were clearly stated 88.9 104
I would recommend this module to other students 77.6 90
The module met my expectations 76.3 90
I enjoyed studying this module 78 92
Overall, I was able to keep up with the workload on this module 68.1 79
Faculty comment: The module team is pleased to report that the majority of respondents were satisfied with module quality and their student experience. K311 has been remade and updated for the October 2017 presentation.
Enter a module code to find a review

To send us reviews on modules you have studied with us, please click the sign in button below.