Skip to content The Open University

Student and tutor module reviews

English for academic purposes online

see module description

  • Points: 30
  • Code: L185
  • Level: 1
On this page

Student reviews

This module really helped me improve my academic writing. In particular I had an excellent tutor who gave valued and constructive advice that allowed me to build on each tutor-marked assignment. Highly recommended.

Samantha Knights

Course starting: October 2018

Review posted: August 2019

This module was a very easy module and the information provided was efficient. I did find the tutor-marked assignments quite repetitive but I had my highest marks with this module. Some of the work was rather interesting.

Course starting: October 2018

Review posted: August 2019

I am very pleased that I have taken this course and appreciated taking L161 first in 2014 (having left school 20 odd years ago).

After the course, I feel that I am better in writing business emails and I feel more confident in further academic studies. I also had a fabulous tutor.

I would highly recommend this course to anyone!

Course starting: October 2015

Review posted: August 2016

I really enjoyed this course and found it very helpful to my studies. I only wished I had done it earlier.

Stella Marie Ogden

Course starting: October 2014

Review posted: June 2016

I found this course really enjoyable I had an excellent tutor which really makes a difference. You can take what you learn from this course to use in future study with OU and would recommend this module to anyone just beginning study. I found participating in elluminate and online TGF discussions really helpful. Overall a great module!

Louise Lawrence

Course starting: October 2012

Review posted: September 2013

This was the first ever course I chose to study with the OU. I was never really any good at writing essays at school so I thought this would be a good one to start me off on my degree in English Literature.

I learnt a lot on how to structure and accurately write an academic essay. This has proved incredibly helpful in writing essays in other courses too. I received some high marks on the TMAs and a distinction on the EMA (very happy with that!)

I would highly recommend this course to anyone who is a bit nervous about starting to study again.

Course starting: October 2012

Review posted: July 2013

Please note

Each of the views expressed above is an individual's very particular response, largely unedited, and should be viewed with that in mind. Since modules are subject to regular updating, some of the issues identified may have already been addressed. In some instances the faculty may have provided a response to a comment. If you have a query about a particular module, please contact your Regional Centre.

Enter a module code to find a review

To send us reviews on modules you have studied with us, please click the sign in button below.