Skip to content The Open University

Student and tutor module reviews

Pure mathematics

see module description

  • Points: 60
  • Code: M208
  • Level: 2
On this page

Student reviews

A truly great and satisfying module,
full of interesting new concepts. As you work through the module, you start to appreciate the beauty of mathematical structures. Pretty cool! The module material is well structured and complemented by outstanding tutors, so much that by the end of the module, I felt that I had developed a deep understanding of the material. Be prepared to put in a lot of effort though as the content is quite difficult and very extensive. I found the pace quite rapid, given that I have a full-time job. It was an eternal struggle to keep up with the pace. Try to keep ahead of the schedule as much as possible right from the start. The exam was tough, given that it was open book, but all in all, doable.

Alex Rohner

Course starting: October 2020

Review posted: August 2021

This was a good module, it made a natural progression from Essential mathematics 2 (MST125) and explained things clearly with plenty of worked examples and additional activities. My tutor was incredibly helpful both during and after my studies.

I studied this module alongside another 60 credit module full time and found the workload very manageable.

I studied M208 during the first lockdown, and I thought the OU dealt with this well.

Studying for a mathematics degree M208 was mandatory but I would recommend this module.

Course starting: October 2019

Review posted: February 2021

M208 was my favourite module with the OU. Even though the workload was heavy being a 60 credit module, I did enjoy learning about group theory, analysis and linear algebra. The tutors were absolutely fantastic and very supportive. The online forum was buzzing and students were encouraged to ask any questions no matter how trivial it seemed. Students who engaged with the module material and online forums did very well. I believe this is an important part of a distance learning module provided by organisations like the OU. M208 books are very self-contained with multiple examples to illustrate the concepts. Some students may find this module challenging being the first introduction to pure mathematics at degree level-thats just the nature of pure maths. The tutor-marked assignments are not too difficult to solve provided you give yourself enough time to complete them. I tried to be a little ahead of the study calendar which helped. I was lucky to have had face to face tutorials not too far from me which was a blessing. By the end of the module, the concepts made a lot more sense. I went on to do M337 and I actually realised how much I missed M208 and I'm now looking forward to M303 (which is a sort of continuation of M208). I highly recommend this module to anyone seriously interested in mathematics - the module is a necessary foundation to so many areas of mathematics.

Course starting: October 2018

Review posted: May 2020

This was a really exciting look into pure maths and a good introduction to group theory and vector spaces. The module materials and the DVDs/CDs were really helpful and the support received was more than adequate. Decent prior knowledge of some concepts from level 1 modules is required I think to get the most out of this course.

Course starting: October 2016

Review posted: June 2018

Make no mistake about it, this is a difficult course, it is a real step-up from first year courses and it is full of new concepts and techniques which I and I think nearly everyone found quite mind-boggling at times and you will probably find that you have to work incredibly hard to do well

But the standard of the course material and in particular the standard of the support you will get from tutors, especially the online tutors, who seem to be utterly inexhaustible and have great patience continually dealing with our lack of comprehension, is incredible.

I found the exam to be very fair, less difficult than the TMAs which I think is how it should be and If you put in the time and stay the course I think most people get very good results in the end.

Course starting: October 2015

Review posted: September 2016

A particular praiseworthy feature of M208, is that of the timely and appropriate interventions and advice given in the Module forums, by a tutor who has extensive knowledge of the module materials.

Course starting: October 2014

Review posted: February 2016

M208 is probably the best OU course I have done, or will do. It's full on, with 7 TMAs. It's a good 60 credits. But its incredibly rewarding. The tutorials online, and in person, are brilliant, the bank of knowledge collectively as a team is incredible.

The collection of past papers, and the annotation of your handbook is key. This is probably going to be my highest scoring module, but it was rewarding and well earned. I would do this style of course 6 times over to do my degree!

Natalie Reading

Course starting: October 2014

Review posted: November 2015

I really enjoyed M208 which was challenging at times but the feeling when it "clicks" was great.

My advice to anyone would be that you do need to spend a lot of time with it and the key to the exam is: past papers, past papers, past papers!

The moderators on the forum were fantastic - when do these people sleep?! I would post a question late in the evening and a response would soon be posted.

Go to the tutorials if possible, there are some concepts in pure maths that just need a different "voice" and then it all becomes apparent!

Thank you OU for a good course!

Catherine Elizabeth Phibben

Course starting: October 2013

Review posted: April 2015

A great course. As an engineer by background (and therefore I've majored on very applied maths), this was a real eye opener.

This is where maths really does change from what you're used to at school/college to University-level pure maths. There's still lots of the standard algebraic equations, for sure - but the course is much more about structure (group theory especially) and rigour. Let me emphasise that last point: you must reference your thinking appropriately, quoting the relevant mathematical theory that supports your supposition.

Some practical advice: when starting M208, immediately print out the last few years' exam papers (available from OUSA) and ensure you make notes, as you progress through the course, on how to answer the (standard) exam questions. While a laudable aim, you don't need to remember (or understand) absolutely everything.

The online course forums, by the way, are superbly supported. Simply ask your question - and, sometimes within minutes, a very kind tutor will give a very clear answer.

Recommended for anyone with a love of maths.

Stuart Reynolds

Course starting: September 2012

Review posted: August 2013

Overall, I am satisfied with the course. Some parts are quite challenging, however, this should not be taken as a demoralising comment.

The support from the tutors was great. I can, without hesitation, recommend this course, especially if you intend to study Level three.

For the exam, go through the previous four to five years of exam papers and you are likely to perform well.

Course starting: January 2012

Review posted: August 2013

This is an excellent and well written course covering all subjects in a rigorous manner. You need to be very careful how you answer an analysis question in part 2 of the exam paper. I am sure the OU is more particular than most universities - perhaps this should be explored! I was advised at the revision weekend to avoid analysis questions in part 2 so I did the group theory question instead and of course everyone does the linear algebra question.

Overall a good course which prepared me well for M337 which I have just finished. As I am doing M336 next year the material for revising group theory is very good. I can recommend this course.

John Moffat Scott

Course starting: January 2012

Review posted: June 2013

After completing Mst121 and Ms221, I embarked on the challenge of studying M208. I thoroughly enjoyed this course, despite the fact that it is a real step up from the previous two courses I studied. There are hundreds of proofs that I found difficult to follow, although, a lot of them I skipped but still managed to understand the main concepts and achieve a distinction for my final grade.

As I recently completed A-level maths at my sixth form before deciding to begin an OU degree in maths, the previous knowledge I had helped significantly in completing this course. I would strongly advise anyone who is planning to study this course, to have a thorough knowledge of MST121 and MS221 before attempting this course, in particular, calculus, matrices, vectors and the graph sketching strategy covered in MS221.

When preparing for the final exam if you practise lots of past papers, you will notice that many of the questions are similar in style and wording but have different values or functions to work with. My advice is to revise the examples in the course books so that you become familiar on how to present your answers in the examination. Also the Black Badge Press website contain answer booklets that you can buy which have unofficial mark schemes to aid students with their past papers. I strongly recommend purchasing this book as the way they present their answers are easy, concise and totally in line with the way the OU present their examples to the questions in the course books.

On the whole this is a very satisfying course and the next logical step to take if you have completed MST121 and MS221 towards a degree in mathematics.

Joshua Robinson

Course starting: January 2012

Review posted: January 2013

In my opinion an excellent course. I particularly liked the way that analysis was taught. The groups section was hard but satisfying. There was quite a long introduction section so this course is ideal for anyone who neeeds a refresher. Exam was very fair and my extensive use of past papers served as excellent revision.

Course starting: January 2011

Review posted: June 2012

A well-designed course covering many aspects of Pure Maths. The module texts are well-written with many examples. The accompanying audio-visual parts are not up to the same standard, but I ended up ignoring them as I thought they added nothing to the understanding of the Maths. The exam is highly predictable if you do as many past papers as you can. Note, this also helps with deciding which parts of the course to concentrate on for intensive revision.

Course starting: January 2011

Review posted: December 2011

A nice module covering Analysis, Group Theory and an introduction to Linear Algebra.

The course notes are very well written and help students that are not, lets say, ''talented'' to understand university mathematics. This is really important, since subjects like analysis often frighten students.

However, this course will let down a student that looks for challengig problems in TMAs... All TMA or exam problems can be solved by just applying a standard stategy and require almost no thinking.

Course starting: January 2009

Review posted: August 2010

Please note

Each of the views expressed above is an individual's very particular response, largely unedited, and should be viewed with that in mind. Since modules are subject to regular updating, some of the issues identified may have already been addressed. In some instances the faculty may have provided a response to a comment. If you have a query about a particular module, please contact your Regional Centre.

Enter a module code to find a review

To send us reviews on modules you have studied with us, please click the sign in button below.