Skip to content The Open University

Student and tutor module reviews

Essential mathematics 2

see module description

  • Points: 30
  • Code: MST125
  • Level: 1

Student reviews

A superbly presented course. The creators of the course have done everything they possibly can to help the student complete the module successfully. The secret is of course to work through as many activities and exercises as possible, over and over again, and this is one area where the course stands out - there are a great many available to work through. Tutors even provided unofficial solutions to past exam papers, which was really helpful. I did feel several times during the course that I might struggle to keep all the different topics in my head at exam time but constant practice paid off in the end. The fact that you can annotate the handbook (which can be taken into the exam) as extensively as you wish is very useful indeed for the longer exam questions, and I would urge you to make best use of this facility. Overall a very enjoyable course, but hard work required to make the most of it.

John Robert Littlewood

Course starting: February 2018

Review posted: November 2018

I loved this course and am really looking forward to taking the subject further with my level 2 studies. I liked the mix of styles in the exam and found it a well written and enjoyable module. The mix of topics covered meant that if you don't like a unit then it's only one unit out of a whole module.

Course starting: October 2017

Review posted: August 2018

I found this module very interesting and enjoyed all the topics covered. While it's a little bit more challenging than MST124, I found that with a bit of hard work everything became clear. The face-to-face tutorials I found to be invaluable. If you're interested in maths you should take this module.

Rob Collinson

Course starting: October 2017

Review posted: August 2018

A tough, challenging module. While I had some fantastic scores throughout most of the course I did tail off pretty spectacularly towards the end. With the the exam looming, I hadn't done enough conics and geometric transformations.

By the end I was just happy to PASS the exam and was past caring how much it would bring down my course TMA average.

I did A-Level maths a good few years ago which clearly helped with mechanics, calculus and differential equations. Outside of these topics it was a bit of a slog.

If you fancy improving your maths skills I strongly recommend this course!

Marlon Williams

Course starting: October 2015

Review posted: September 2016

This was a challenging course - I overlapped with an October start MST124 and February start MST125, and at times regretted that. However, having finished and passed both, I'm glad I did it that way - they do complement each other, but you'd need to be very confident (and probably have a good 'A' level pass behind you) to do both at the same time.

I did find with this course that it 'came together' in the run up to the exam and I did better overall than I expected to. A good preparation for level 2 Maths.

Pam Currie

Course starting: January 2015

Review posted: June 2016

I found the course to be well structured, well presented and delivered at a good pace. The blend of printed materials and the on-line supplements ( examples, applets and quizzes) are excellent. It delivers a flexible multi-media approach which is a pleasure to study - even when on the move ( I travel a lot!). The TMAs really helped embed the learning and there were plenty of supplementary exercises to practice with. A few early tussles with the Maxima programme, but no major problems. The maths faculty seems to really understand the challenges of distance learning and human beings - please don't follow the fad of others in trying to have on-line only delivery!

Course starting: January 2015

Review posted: December 2015

Please note

Each of the views expressed above is an individual's very particular response, largely unedited, and should be viewed with that in mind. Since modules are subject to regular updating, some of the issues identified may have already been addressed. In some instances the faculty may have provided a response to a comment. If you have a query about a particular module, please contact your Regional Centre.

Top

Module satisfaction survey

The figures below are taken from a survey of students who sat the exam/completed the end-of-module assessment for the October 2016 presentation of MST125. The survey was carried out in 2017.

177 students (a response rate of 21.1%) responded to the survey covering what they thought of 10 aspects of the module.

Please note that if the percentage of students who responded to this module survey is below 30% and/or the number of responses is below 23 it means that only a small proportion of students provided feedback and their views as shown here may not be fully representative of all students who studied the module.

See this page for the full text of questions and more information about the survey.

% Count
Overall, I am satisfied with the quality of this module 95.4 167
Overall, I am satisfied with my study experience 92.7 164
The module provided good value for money 74.9 131
I was satisfied with the support provided by my tutor/study adviser on this module 86.4 153
Overall, I was satisfied with the teaching materials provided on this module 94.3 165
The learning outcomes of the module were clearly stated 96 170
I would recommend this module to other students 89.8 159
The module met my expectations 93.2 165
I enjoyed studying this module 87.6 155
Overall, I was able to keep up with the workload on this module 84.2 149
Faculty comment: "Respondent feedback was generally very good. The verdict on module materials was practically unanimous, and even those who were unhappy about some aspects commented positively on the clarity and accuracy of the materials. Some explicitly commended the availability of print textbooks, others of PDFs, which indicates that both formats are needed. A few found the workload too high, although 84.2% agreed that they could keep up with the workload. Additional resources, in particular tutorial clips, recorded tutorials and applets, were widely appreciated. A non-negligible number of comments on the lack of exam preparation material suggests that the resources were not easy to locate. We plan to improve the accessibility of these resources. A few students criticised the lack of face-to-face tutorials and the poor delivery of some online sessions. There were also complaints that the course is overloaded, there is not enough time for revision and the exam is too long. Some students would like more tutorial clips, more worked examples and more practice quizzes, particularly revision ones for Section A of the exam, and on Unit 7 (calculus). There were three complaints about the error in the exam paper. Some students dislike Maxima, and some dislike Unit 12. However, it should be noted that out of the students who responded, there were very few students in each of these criticism categories."
Enter a module code to find a review

To send us reviews on modules you have studied with us, please click the sign in button below.