Skip to content The Open University

Student and tutor module reviews

Essential mathematics 2

see module description

  • Points: 30
  • Code: MST125
  • Level: 1
On this page

Student reviews

This module was almost uniformly excellent. I enjoyed almost all of it, finding only some of the calculus stuff a bit of a slog (partial fraction stuff, and dynamics).

Beware that in unit 9 (of 12) you encounter proofs. I loved this but it was all familiar to me from having done logic on a philosophy degree. Others hit a brick wall with it. For me, the sting in the tail was the final unit on combinatorics! And most of that was due to linguistic ambiguity - it felt impossible to even get my questions understood! Lesson being: get ahead, stay ahead - you never know where the brick wall will be!

Assessments were fair and enjoyable, not least as I learned LaTeX.

The exam was reasonable but by no means easy. Having got high 90s or 100s for the coursework, I dropped to low 80s and walked away with a very unrepresentative 2.1 (merit). But I am not bitter as a 2.1 is a good grade, and I do not know what more the team could throw at you to make you both learn and enjoy the material.

Tutorials were hit and miss, as ever. Shop around to find a style that suits you.

You probably will not take this course unless you are on a maths-heavy pathway but I urge you to consider it if you have credit space. If MST124 is a hearty meal at breakfast then MST125 is wine tasting on a sunny afternoon. Oh my!

Course starting: February 2019

Review posted: July 2020

A superbly presented course. The creators of the course have done everything they possibly can to help the student complete the module successfully. The secret is of course to work through as many activities and exercises as possible, over and over again, and this is one area where the course stands out - there are a great many available to work through. Tutors even provided unofficial solutions to past exam papers, which was really helpful. I did feel several times during the course that I might struggle to keep all the different topics in my head at exam time but constant practice paid off in the end. The fact that you can annotate the handbook (which can be taken into the exam) as extensively as you wish is very useful indeed for the longer exam questions, and I would urge you to make best use of this facility. Overall a very enjoyable course, but hard work required to make the most of it.

John Robert Littlewood

Course starting: February 2018

Review posted: November 2018

I loved this course and am really looking forward to taking the subject further with my level 2 studies. I liked the mix of styles in the exam and found it a well written and enjoyable module. The mix of topics covered meant that if you don't like a unit then it's only one unit out of a whole module.

Course starting: October 2017

Review posted: August 2018

I found this module very interesting and enjoyed all the topics covered. While it's a little bit more challenging than MST124, I found that with a bit of hard work everything became clear. The face-to-face tutorials I found to be invaluable. If you're interested in maths you should take this module.

Rob Collinson

Course starting: October 2017

Review posted: August 2018

A tough, challenging module. While I had some fantastic scores throughout most of the course I did tail off pretty spectacularly towards the end. With the the exam looming, I hadn't done enough conics and geometric transformations.

By the end I was just happy to PASS the exam and was past caring how much it would bring down my course TMA average.

I did A-Level maths a good few years ago which clearly helped with mechanics, calculus and differential equations. Outside of these topics it was a bit of a slog.

If you fancy improving your maths skills I strongly recommend this course!

Marlon Williams

Course starting: October 2015

Review posted: September 2016

This was a challenging course - I overlapped with an October start MST124 and February start MST125, and at times regretted that. However, having finished and passed both, I'm glad I did it that way - they do complement each other, but you'd need to be very confident (and probably have a good 'A' level pass behind you) to do both at the same time.

I did find with this course that it 'came together' in the run up to the exam and I did better overall than I expected to. A good preparation for level 2 Maths.

Pam Currie

Course starting: January 2015

Review posted: June 2016

I found the course to be well structured, well presented and delivered at a good pace. The blend of printed materials and the on-line supplements ( examples, applets and quizzes) are excellent. It delivers a flexible multi-media approach which is a pleasure to study - even when on the move ( I travel a lot!). The TMAs really helped embed the learning and there were plenty of supplementary exercises to practice with. A few early tussles with the Maxima programme, but no major problems. The maths faculty seems to really understand the challenges of distance learning and human beings - please don't follow the fad of others in trying to have on-line only delivery!

Course starting: January 2015

Review posted: December 2015

Please note

Each of the views expressed above is an individual's very particular response, largely unedited, and should be viewed with that in mind. Since modules are subject to regular updating, some of the issues identified may have already been addressed. In some instances the faculty may have provided a response to a comment. If you have a query about a particular module, please contact your Regional Centre.

Enter a module code to find a review

To send us reviews on modules you have studied with us, please click the sign in button below.