Skip to content The Open University

Student and tutor module reviews

Mathematical methods

see module description

  • Points: 30
  • Code: MST224
  • Level: 2

Student reviews

This is a very interesting but quite difficult module. It's certainly a big step up from Level 1 maths modules and will stretch your mathematical ability. However, it is extremely satisfying when you begin to comprehend the concepts in the module, particularly things like the integrating and differentiation of scalar and vector fields. I would happily recommend it to anyone interested in mathematics but do be prepared to put the work in. I also found attending the face-to-face lectures to be invaluable.

Rob Collinson

Course starting: October 2017

Review posted: August 2018

This was an excellent course, and one of my favourites in my degree. It was hard going, and calculus is still one of my nemesis', but I thoroughly enjoyed the learning and TMAs. The tutor support is very very good, there were a wealth of online tutorials to chose from and be able to watch back, and face to face tutorials offered as well.

I studied this after M208, and there is no doubt that it helped my marks and confidence, especially in the first TMA. As a shorter, alternative, to MST210, I highly recommend it, and thoroughly enjoyed it as my last level 2 maths module.

Course starting: October 2015

Review posted: January 2017

Hi Everyone, I took this course last year and thought it was great! I would recommend this course highly to anyone wishing to pursue the physics pathway on the current Open University degrees.

Course starting: October 2014

Review posted: September 2015

Quality course covering essential mathematical techniques used in science/engineering/economics etc. As far as I know its basically a shortened version of the more daunting MST210. The course books in particular are excellent. Whether you find it tough or not will depend on your mathematical background. Good algebra skills and a fair degree of fluency in basic differentiation and integration are strongly advised.

Course starting: October 2013

Review posted: April 2015

Please note

Each of the views expressed above is an individual's very particular response, largely unedited, and should be viewed with that in mind. Since modules are subject to regular updating, some of the issues identified may have already been addressed. In some instances the faculty may have provided a response to a comment. If you have a query about a particular module, please contact your Regional Centre.

Top

Module satisfaction survey

The figures below are taken from a survey of students who sat the exam/completed the end-of-module assessment for the October 2016 presentation of MST224. The survey was carried out in 2017.

87 students (a response rate of 28.2%) responded to the survey covering what they thought of 10 aspects of the module.

Please note that if the percentage of students who responded to this module survey is below 30% and/or the number of responses is below 23 it means that only a small proportion of students provided feedback and their views as shown here may not be fully representative of all students who studied the module.

See this page for the full text of questions and more information about the survey.

% Count
Overall, I am satisfied with the quality of this module 95.3 82
Overall, I am satisfied with my study experience 89.5 77
The module provided good value for money 76.2 64
I was satisfied with the support provided by my tutor/study adviser on this module 95.4 83
Overall, I was satisfied with the teaching materials provided on this module 91.9 79
The learning outcomes of the module were clearly stated 97.6 83
I would recommend this module to other students 89.4 76
The module met my expectations 90.7 78
I enjoyed studying this module 87.2 75
Overall, I was able to keep up with the workload on this module 86 74
Faculty comment: The module team was pleased with the module that started in October 2016 and the very positive feedback. We're listening to your suggestions and are considering the options for improving the experience of students on this module.
Enter a module code to find a review

To send us reviews on modules you have studied with us, please click the sign in button below.