Skip to content The Open University

Student and tutor module reviews

Mathematical methods

see module description

  • Points: 30
  • Code: MST224
  • Level: 2
On this page

Student reviews

This is a very in-depth and rapid paced module, quite the leap from 'Essential mathematics 1' (MST124) from which it follows. If you have a complete and comfortable understanding of the methods and procedures of MST124 this will be challenging but enjoyable. If you are not comfortable with these methods it will be a struggle.

Course starting: October 2019

Review posted: September 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed the my mathematical modules in the first year (Discovering Mathematics and Essential Mathematics), so assumed that Mathematical Methods would be a natural choice for me in my second year.

However, the moment I started the course I was told that 100% of the final mark was the exam.

This is obviously problematic as having a coursework/exam balance like most other modules is essential at assessing both practical real-world applications of what youve learned (coursework) and knowlege retention (exam).

So this pretty much killed the entire module for me. All coursework had no insentive and if you are unlucky enough to be doing several modules at once you will find your final exam crammed right next to your other exams - making revision is hard.

I wouldnt recommend this module to anyone, especially if they struggle with exams (which is part of the reason why we are back att he OU in the first place).

The OU have failed to understand their students with this.

Simon Tompkins

Course starting: October 2018

Review posted: June 2020

Faculty response

The module MST224 "Mathematical methods" teaches the core methods that are needed for many applications of mathematics in physics, engineering, economics and higher-level mathematics.

The student population of the module is diverse as it reflects the broad applicability of the methods to many disciplines. For this reason the assessment of MST224 focusses on testing the methods themselves rather than any particular discipline. So, although the module contains many case studies where methods are applied in different disciplines, the assessment does not single out any particular discipline.

Both the continuous assessment and the exam are focussed on testing the core mathematical methods, and both cover the learning outcomes of the module. Either type of assessment could in principle be used to determine the final grade, but the exam is preferred because it encourages students to consolidate knowledge from throughout the module in preparation for future studies.

The exam is carefully designed for Open University students so that it does not require memorisation of facts (everything required is written in the exam Handbook, which students can refer to in the exam) or particularly quick calculation (the exam is not a speed test).

The continuous assessment is an important part of MST224 in order to provide necessary practice, as the best way to learn mathematical methods is by actively using the techniques, and then receiving personalised feedback from a tutor. Thus there is a threshold on the MST224 continuous assessment to help ensure students satisfactorily engage with it. It is our experience that students who do so fully generally perform better in the exam and are better placed to study successfully at OU level 3.

This is an important module for all subsequent modules in maths and science.
The mathematical ideas and concepts are narrow in scope (mainly calculus and applied differential equations) but more than make up in complexity and depth. Despite the relativity easy introduction I found the module quickly becoming much harder as it progressed.
The later units expect a very high level of proficiency and are written accordingly.
Nonetheless the mathematics contained is interesting and forming the basis later modules are based upon. A hard and uncompromising module.

Course starting: October 2018

Review posted: November 2019

This is a very interesting but quite difficult module. It's certainly a big step up from Level 1 maths modules and will stretch your mathematical ability. However, it is extremely satisfying when you begin to comprehend the concepts in the module, particularly things like the integrating and differentiation of scalar and vector fields. I would happily recommend it to anyone interested in mathematics but do be prepared to put the work in. I also found attending the face-to-face lectures to be invaluable.

Rob Collinson

Course starting: October 2017

Review posted: August 2018

This was an excellent course, and one of my favourites in my degree. It was hard going, and calculus is still one of my nemesis', but I thoroughly enjoyed the learning and TMAs. The tutor support is very very good, there were a wealth of online tutorials to chose from and be able to watch back, and face to face tutorials offered as well.

I studied this after M208, and there is no doubt that it helped my marks and confidence, especially in the first TMA. As a shorter, alternative, to MST210, I highly recommend it, and thoroughly enjoyed it as my last level 2 maths module.

Course starting: October 2015

Review posted: January 2017

Hi Everyone, I took this course last year and thought it was great! I would recommend this course highly to anyone wishing to pursue the physics pathway on the current Open University degrees.

Course starting: October 2014

Review posted: September 2015

Quality course covering essential mathematical techniques used in science/engineering/economics etc. As far as I know its basically a shortened version of the more daunting MST210. The course books in particular are excellent. Whether you find it tough or not will depend on your mathematical background. Good algebra skills and a fair degree of fluency in basic differentiation and integration are strongly advised.

Course starting: October 2013

Review posted: April 2015

Please note

Each of the views expressed above is an individual's very particular response, largely unedited, and should be viewed with that in mind. Since modules are subject to regular updating, some of the issues identified may have already been addressed. In some instances the faculty may have provided a response to a comment. If you have a query about a particular module, please contact your Regional Centre.

Enter a module code to find a review

To send us reviews on modules you have studied with us, please click the sign in button below.