Skip to content The Open University

Student and tutor module reviews

Science: concepts and practice

see module description

  • Points: 60
  • Code: S112
  • Level: 1
On this page

Student reviews

I really enjoyed this module. It expanded my general knowledge in all areas of science and I would like to do more courses like this. There is a lot of information and it is quite challenging, but very rewarding and interesting. It gives a necessary base knowledge that any science student should have. The final exam was something I was anxious about, but it was not too difficult. I didn't have a lot of time to prepare for it, but the knowledge I gained just by engaging with the materials throughout the module was enough to get a good grade. Because English isn't my first language I struggled a bit at the beginnning of the module, but just reading the materials and doing all of the associated activities helped me improve more than I ever thought possible in 10 months. At the end of the module I felt a lot more confident to tackle the rest of the Health Sciences degree.

Course starting: October 2018

Review posted: June 2020

This is a lovely module with great tutor support, can't fault any part of this module.

Course starting: October 2018

Review posted: March 2020

Very broad module providing an ample grounding to A level-like standard in biology, chemistry, physics and geology.

This module will not only allow you to study what subject you're most interested in but also coax you into equally engaging with other subjects.
The ability to choose what to study in the final few weeks was really enjoyable.

Brilliant support from my tutor and enjoyable assignments. The exam structure allows for skills and understanding to be tested as well as just knowledge.

Milo Mee

Course starting: October 2018

Review posted: September 2019

This module followed on well from Questions in science (S111). There was a good range of topics with the opportunity to choose a topic you were more interested in at the end. I found quantum physics challenging but surprisingly fascinating.
I did the first presentation of S112 which I think had issues that hopefully were ironed out for the next presentation.
Group work was frustrating as not everyone makes an effort to contribute in time, although its all clearly stated on the planner when you need to do things by, and no group work is too taxing. The day schools were good and a chance to see other students.
This is a good broad module, especially if you are not sure which branch of science you prefer. I dreaded the exam but it was fine and a good opportunity to do a low stakes exam before level 2.

Course starting: October 2017

Review posted: May 2019

Please note

Each of the views expressed above is an individual's very particular response, largely unedited, and should be viewed with that in mind. Since modules are subject to regular updating, some of the issues identified may have already been addressed. In some instances the faculty may have provided a response to a comment. If you have a query about a particular module, please contact your Regional Centre.

Enter a module code to find a review

To send us reviews on modules you have studied with us, please click the sign in button below.