Skip to content The Open University

Student and tutor module reviews

Science and health: an evidence-based approach

see module description

  • Points: 60
  • Code: SDK100
  • Level: 1
On this page

Student reviews

This is a really interesting module, brilliant as a starting module for anyone who hasn't studied in a while. The online content is easy to follow and really engaging. It's a good way to build study skills like essay writing and referencing. The tutor was very supportive too. I really enjoyed this module and would highly recommend it to new students.

Course starting: February 2020

Review posted: September 2021

I really enjoyed this module and found the support from my tutor excellent. The science is given context by the topics, and you'll need to use several topics to answer single questions in the end-of-module assessment.

Although I didn't think I'd like using a website for study, I found it better than expected. It actually helped to keep me on track.

I had studied short courses with the OU before, but this is the first time I've studied as part of a BSc and with a plan. I feel well-prepared for the next step.

Simone Burton

Course starting: October 2020

Review posted: July 2021

This module was very informative and can be related easily to real life situations. However, I don't think this module relates entirely to the psychology field and is more aimed at physical health-based fields.

Elizabeth O'Neill

Course starting: February 2020

Review posted: December 2020

I really enjoyed SDK100. It was a good introduction to OU study. There are 6 tutor-marked assignments plus an end-of-module assessment so it is full on and there's a lot of reading to do but the content was so interesting and the interactive activities were helpful in understanding it all. I also loved doing the experiments in the virtual lab. I had a great tutor and I felt very supported throughout this first module. I've learnt so much in such a short space of time and feel confident progressing with my studies. Thanks OU.

Course starting: February 2020

Review posted: November 2020

This module offers a great introduction into the Health Sciences. It slowly introduces important concepts about the human body, health and science and then builds on that as the module progresses, slowly adding more detail. The materials are really well written, interesting and engaging. I feel that I have gotten a lot from this module. It felt quite easy to do, but looking back it was easy because it is so well structured and thought out. I got a lot of knowledge and developed great time management skills by doing this module, something I used to struggle with.

Course starting: October 2018

Review posted: June 2020

Fantastic module, so interesting and fascinating. Lovely tutor who was super nice and helpful.

Course starting: February 2019

Review posted: May 2020

I liked this module. Tutor feedback was detailed and helpful. The pace was fine, although sometimes I wish there was a book to read as well as the online materials. I enjoyed working on the end of module assessment. The subjects were varied and explained well. I would recommend this module for others.

Linda Sandilands

Course starting: October 2017

Review posted: April 2019

I enjoyed this module as it gave me an insight in to the workings of our body and I learnt much more including use of Excel. If you like biology it will be more enjoyable but overall I would recommend this module to anyone considering Health and wellbeing.

Deepak Nayyar

Course starting: January 2016

Review posted: July 2017

This was a very interesting course and the interactive elements really helped to understand biological processes. It didn't have much to do with my overall degree but I am very glad I did it. It seemed to cover quite a few topics I remember from my biology A level (20 years ago - its easier to understand when the diagrams move), and it covers some of the major illnesses that we may well have to deal with in our own lives at some point: Subjects that you may well need to know about if you are a biological organism.

Course starting: October 2015

Review posted: March 2017

This was my first module with the OU and I absolutely loved it. It eases you in gently and introduces some relatively complex concepts in a way that doesn't intimidate. My tutor was very supportive, encouraging and responsive and I particularly enjoyed the topics on infectious diseases, pain and cancer screening.

Some of my fellow students found it difficult to get to grips with the online delivery of this course but I found that it suited me and I probably preferred it to traditional book learning. It was interactive throughout and included plenty of video material, virtual lab tasks and quizzes to reinforce learning.

Before beginning the module, I was worried that I may not be able to cope with the amount of time the course demanded but I was pleasantly surprised to find that it was manageable. The TMAs were interesting and a nice balance of questions, tasks and essay writing. My only gripe is that the TMA scores don't contribute to the overall grade, despite the fact that many of the TMAs are quite involved and require a lot of work. It would be nice for this to be reflected in the overall grade but I understand that this is only a level 1 module.

All in all, I thoroughly enjoyed SDK100 and would recommend it to anyone with an interest in science and health.

Course starting: October 2015

Review posted: February 2017

This was my first module with OU and I thoroughly loved it!

I have studied and worked within the science realm before, but this module really made me expand my horizons for future options and highlighted areas of interest that I didn't realise existed.

The tutors and tutorials were extremely helpful and I would definitely encourage any student to attend the online, but especially the face-to-face tutorials. They are very helpful and it's encouraging to hear from your fellow students of any concerns you may be feeling are yours alone, are actually shared.

This was an excellent module and I would highly recommend it if you are intrigued by any aspects of health and science!

Andrea Land

Course starting: January 2016

Review posted: January 2017

As a new student to the OU, I was apprehensive about the effort and the time needed to complete SDK100. However, the tutors, the material take you from the beginning and is very well explained.


As a prior science student, I did not find the module hard and the science I learned was much enjoyed. I am happy to say that it piqued my interest even more in the biological sciences!

This is a Level 1 module, and it takes you smoothly to level 2 if you need to.

I'd say this - there should be more face-to-face tutorials because they are so helpful.

Thank you OU and the brilliant tutors!

Hafsa Qazi

Course starting: October 2015

Review posted: September 2016

Please note

Each of the views expressed above is an individual's very particular response, largely unedited, and should be viewed with that in mind. Since modules are subject to regular updating, some of the issues identified may have already been addressed. In some instances the faculty may have provided a response to a comment. If you have a query about a particular module, please contact your Regional Centre.

Enter a module code to find a review

To send us reviews on modules you have studied with us, please click the sign in button below.