Skip to content The Open University

Student and tutor module reviews

Science and health: an evidence-based approach

see module description

  • Points: 60
  • Code: SDK100
  • Level: 1
On this page

Student reviews

This is a really interesting module, brilliant as a starting module for anyone who hasn't studied in a while. The online content is easy to follow and really engaging. It's a good way to build study skills like essay writing and referencing. The tutor was very supportive too. I really enjoyed this module and would highly recommend it to new students.

Course starting: February 2020

Review posted: September 2021

I really enjoyed this module and found the support from my tutor excellent. The science is given context by the topics, and you'll need to use several topics to answer single questions in the end-of-module assessment.

Although I didn't think I'd like using a website for study, I found it better than expected. It actually helped to keep me on track.

I had studied short courses with the OU before, but this is the first time I've studied as part of a BSc and with a plan. I feel well-prepared for the next step.

Simone Burton

Course starting: October 2020

Review posted: July 2021

This module was very informative and can be related easily to real life situations. However, I don't think this module relates entirely to the psychology field and is more aimed at physical health-based fields.

Elizabeth O'Neill

Course starting: February 2020

Review posted: December 2020

I really enjoyed SDK100. It was a good introduction to OU study. There are 6 tutor-marked assignments plus an end-of-module assessment so it is full on and there's a lot of reading to do but the content was so interesting and the interactive activities were helpful in understanding it all. I also loved doing the experiments in the virtual lab. I had a great tutor and I felt very supported throughout this first module. I've learnt so much in such a short space of time and feel confident progressing with my studies. Thanks OU.

Course starting: February 2020

Review posted: November 2020

This module offers a great introduction into the Health Sciences. It slowly introduces important concepts about the human body, health and science and then builds on that as the module progresses, slowly adding more detail. The materials are really well written, interesting and engaging. I feel that I have gotten a lot from this module. It felt quite easy to do, but looking back it was easy because it is so well structured and thought out. I got a lot of knowledge and developed great time management skills by doing this module, something I used to struggle with.

Course starting: October 2018

Review posted: June 2020

Fantastic module, so interesting and fascinating. Lovely tutor who was super nice and helpful.

Course starting: February 2019

Review posted: May 2020

I liked this module. Tutor feedback was detailed and helpful. The pace was fine, although sometimes I wish there was a book to read as well as the online materials. I enjoyed working on the end of module assessment. The subjects were varied and explained well. I would recommend this module for others.

Linda Sandilands

Course starting: October 2017

Review posted: April 2019

Please note

Each of the views expressed above is an individual's very particular response, largely unedited, and should be viewed with that in mind. Since modules are subject to regular updating, some of the issues identified may have already been addressed. In some instances the faculty may have provided a response to a comment. If you have a query about a particular module, please contact your Regional Centre.

Enter a module code to find a review

To send us reviews on modules you have studied with us, please click the sign in button below.