Skip to content The Open University

Student and tutor module reviews

Environment: journeys through a changing world

see module description

  • Points: 60
  • Code: U116
  • Level: 1

Student reviews

This is a very detailed module and has covered some interesting parts to study about this planet and some major ecosystems in it. Tutor support has been great throughout the module, I enjoyed studying all the blocks of this module.

Riddhi Raina

Course starting: October 2017

Review posted: July 2019

Absolutely brilliant re-introduction to study, comfortable pace and interesting topics on a broad range of subjects and a satisfying lack of rocks (currently doing S112 with too many rocks). I was lucky to have an amazing tutor.

Course starting: October 2017

Review posted: December 2018

On the whole I really enjoyed this module. The content was interesting and relevant. However, I did struggle (as did many of my peers) with the wording and inaccuracies of the some of the TMA questions. I gather that this was due to the first running of this rewritten module and that these problems, along with typos etc in the Block material, have been resolved.

Course starting: October 2017

Review posted: August 2018

U116 was a fantastic course, I found it enjoyable and I loved the journey narrative that was present throughout. The assessments where varied, which help to cover a wide range of learning. Excellent tutor and support. Most of the course material worked using exclusively free/libre (Freedom respecting) software, though it required a bit extra work to do so. Being book based was really nice. Was a wonderful start to my OU studies and my Cert HE, I would recommend it to anyone.

Course starting: October 2016

Review posted: July 2018

Without doubt this is the best module that I have studied with the OU.
It's a module that covers a vast amount, yet is so enjoyable that you do not notice how much you are actually learning.
The assignments are straight forward and develop a wide range of skills.
The tutor for this module was exceptional. Her knowledge, support and feedback just added to the overall satisfaction I had in studying.
Would I recommend this module? Without hesitation.

Simon Graeme Ross

Course starting: January 2016

Review posted: December 2016

I was not sure what I would be getting with this course, but was pleasantly surprised. I found it thoroughly enjoyable and eye opening, it was so wide reaching and yet detailed. My tutor was excellent and I wish I had met him 30 years ago!! I could not have asked for a better way to start my study with the OU.

Thomas Philbin

Course starting: January 2015

Review posted: April 2016

This course was great and so interesting. The module format was straightforward with lots of interesting issues and chapters demonstrating our changing world. The assignments were fairly uncomplicated and it all kept my interest right through. It was an eye opener to see what is happening in our world with regards to biodiversity, anthropogenic destruction and the way our environment is changing.

My tutor was brilliant which made the module more approachable which was a big help. Because it was so interesting (though somewhat worrying at times at the way our planet is being degraded) I sailed through to get a grade 1 pass. Thank you!

Carol Williams

Course starting: October 2013

Review posted: May 2015

I loved this course. It was a great introduction to the Environment with some interesting case studies. A good mix of book and online work. I have since studied very book heavy courses and another online activity/dvd heavy course but this had a nice mix. There was no exam but I feel I did very well and managed the work load well. It builds up towards the last 3 TMAs which get slightly harder but generally the course is fun and interesting and a good basis for DST206 and an introduction to Open University study and the Environment. Very diverse too, will definitely keep you busy and engaged!

Irma Rose Pettitt

Course starting: October 2012

Review posted: June 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed this wide ranging 'global' course and recommend it.

David Robertson

Course starting: February 2012

Review posted: October 2013

I think this module is great if you want to learn a little bit of everything that is going on on our planet! Starting with the Arctic, where you will have to set up a little museum exposition, passing to the Amazon where you will understand the pros and cons of sustainable tourism and finally studying China, a place from where we are largely dependant on. This course has taught me how to be an effective thinker and how to take into consideration the different stakeholders points of view in any situation.

Definitely recommend it to everyone!!

Sara Iamonte

Course starting: October 2012

Review posted: August 2013

This was my first course with the Open University and my first studying experience since leaving school 18 years ago. I was a little nervous to say the least but I couldn't have chosen a better introductory course to ease me back into learning.

Anybody with an interest in the environment will enjoy this course. The study material is broad ranging and very engaging from the first few pages of the first book. The module takes you on a journey through different regions of the world and offers an insight into various environmental issues such as deforestation in the Amazon rainforest to the industrialisation of China. We learn about a selection of natural processes and about how they were discovered. The journey takes you from the UK to the Arctic, Africa, the far east, South America and back to London.

The activities were interesting and encouraged you to really study the material to get the best result for the given task. I particularly enjoyed the task of playing the part of a museum curator to organise an exhibition based on the Arctic following the book studying the Arctic region.

My tutor for the course provided some really good feedback both positive and negative and was always on hand to provide advice when needed, this made all the difference in encouraging me to give my best. The day school was a good introduction to the module and I would thoroughly recommend anybody signing up to this to attend.

On the whole I found the course to be very enjoyable and a good foundation on which to begin my studies with the O.U. If you are still undecided as to whether or not to enrol, don't hesitate just do it!

Dean Harrison

Course starting: October 2012

Review posted: August 2013

I would recommend this module to students who want to start studying the environmental issues just like me. I was an absolute beginner but the course books introduced me to the different locations and their different environment. I enjoyed more than I expected and I learnt a lot from the course materials and my excellent tutor.

Course starting: October 2012

Review posted: August 2013

I found the course a bit hit and miss on the subject, some units were excellent (China, Africa) while others just seemed to be a collection of facts and figures. Although there was quite a lot of reading it was a 60 credit module so overall it was OK.

I did get annoyed by the TMA structure. I have never done a course before where the questions were located between sections of advice (both before and after) on what should be in the answers and how many words each of the sections that they suggested should take.

I believe this is one of those courses where you benefit from seeing the tutor at a study centre, in my case these took place 45 miles from my home so I was unable to attend a single one.

When researching for material for the TMA on the internet I did fall across sites which contained model answers for the current questions. I found this unacceptable practice and, whoever you are, you need pulling up because the rest of us do it the hard way and deserve the credits at the end.

Norman Harold Bailey

Course starting: October 2012

Review posted: July 2013

Faculty response

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, the U116 Module Team always appreciates feedback. We are sorry to hear that you did not like the structure of the TMAs. As a Level 1 module we have a vast range of students with different levels of experience. Many U116 students are new to higher-education study and this is their first module, which is why we provide more guidance in the TMAs than you would expect to see at Level 2 or 3.

We completely agree with your sentiments that model answers should not be posted onto websites, and we appreciate it when students report such activity to their tutor or on the forum so we can take action. We take plagiarism very seriously as outlined in the U116 TMA Guide. Following standard OU practice we use plagiarism detection software that checks TMAs for collusion between students and also checks against publically available material on the internet. We have a robust follow-up process which includes study support and disciplinary action where necessary.

We are pleased to report that we’ve been successful in having model answers removed from a number of websites. It is also worth noting that although plagiarism is a very serious issue, it is also very infrequent.

In summary;

I'm glad I read the materials, I hated the assignments which were very poorly worded, and felt the feedback on assignments unhelpful.

It is an easy course and you can scrape a pass doing only the minimum amount of work. Being a Level one module it doesn't affect your final degree grade so it may appeal to people who are short of time.

Course starting: February 2012

Review posted: April 2013

A really enjoyable course, covering a wide range of environmental topics and a good introduction to the environment. The TMAs were well written and well thought out and I was pleased at my grades for most of them.

Anyone with an interest in environment will find this course a good starting ground. I have since gone on to study U216 as U116 gave me a thirst for more. I liked the way the course covered a wide range of topics, and took you "around the world", looking at various environmental issues.

Overall a really enjoyable course, covering excellent topics, with a well written course, highly recommended.

Andrew Harrison

Course starting: February 2012

Review posted: March 2013

Please note

Each of the views expressed above is an individual's very particular response, largely unedited, and should be viewed with that in mind. Since modules are subject to regular updating, some of the issues identified may have already been addressed. In some instances the faculty may have provided a response to a comment. If you have a query about a particular module, please contact your Regional Centre.

Top

Module satisfaction survey

The figures below are taken from a survey of students who sat the exam/completed the end-of-module assessment for the October 2016 presentation of U116. The survey was carried out in 2017.

161 students (a response rate of 22.4%) responded to the survey covering what they thought of 10 aspects of the module.

Please note that if the percentage of students who responded to this module survey is below 30% and/or the number of responses is below 23 it means that only a small proportion of students provided feedback and their views as shown here may not be fully representative of all students who studied the module.

See this page for the full text of questions and more information about the survey.

% Count
Overall, I am satisfied with the quality of this module 88.1 140
Overall, I am satisfied with my study experience 89.2 141
The module provided good value for money 73.7 115
I was satisfied with the support provided by my tutor/study adviser on this module 91.3 147
Overall, I was satisfied with the teaching materials provided on this module 83.9 135
The learning outcomes of the module were clearly stated 96.9 155
I would recommend this module to other students 88.1 141
The module met my expectations 84.5 136
I enjoyed studying this module 87.6 141
Overall, I was able to keep up with the workload on this module 90 144
Faculty comment: "We are delighted that the module continues to receive positive feedback and that the majority of respondents are pleased with its quality, workload and their study experience. We think this reflects our very engaged and motivated students and tutors. This is an interdisciplinary module that teaches some of the core concepts from social science, science, technology and other disciplines. It's good to see we have the balance between these about right. As we come towards the end of the first module, the print-based material is getting out of date, and we're are very pleased that October 2017 saw the launch of the updated edition of the module."
Enter a module code to find a review

To send us reviews on modules you have studied with us, please click the sign in button below.