Skip to content The Open University

Student and tutor module reviews

An introduction to law

see module description

  • Points: 60
  • Code: W101
  • Level: 1
On this page

Student reviews

I did not really enjoy this course as there was too much reading material which made the learning rather tedious. The information on the course website was long winded and never really got to the point. With that said, it goes over everything thoroughly and may suit a student who has a lot of time in order to take in all of the information.

Course starting: October 2017

Review posted: December 2018

Faculty response

Thank you for your feedback. Law is, by its nature, a very ‘wordy’ subject, and we have kept the materials as brief as possible while ensuring that we teach all the essential information. It’s great that you recognise that the units are thorough: our intention is to equip students with the knowledge and skills that they will need to study a complex and fascinating subject.

This was an interesting module and a great introduction to anyone wanting to pursue their study in law.

The units were set out wonderfully and it was easy to go back to the chapters I needed. I ended up printing the units each week to study from as I work better from paper rather than a screen. I would have liked the module to be provided in books, rather than all online.

There was a lot of advice and help when it came to writing TMAs, which I found particularly helpful because this was the first module I studied with the OU. At times I felt that the units were a little stretched out, especially when it came to the European Union.

Course starting: October 2017

Review posted: October 2018

This is an excellent introduction to law with most of the units well written and explained in enough depth. It provides the basis of further study or general interest and would highly recommend.

Some of the units were hard to understand but the tutor was always there to ask. The face-to-face tutorials are always much better as well.

I felt the assignments were proportionate to the study and were sensible with the knowledge. Would highly recommend this module.

Mark James Stocker

Course starting: October 2015

Review posted: September 2016

I enjoyed this course more than I thought I would as the material throughout was bang up to date and very fresh. It really helped with taking in the information. I found the tutorials very helpful for reinforcing each section. The bulk of the course was online and the lack of any course books did set off a highly charged argument.

There was printed paperwork delivered throughout the course(sometimes only just in time to use) which was basically a copy of the online sections. This felt insufficient but was used to help me condense each section when I wanted to change from just being on line.

I found the course in places, particularly towards the end a little challenging but with the help of the tutor was able to receive advice in how best to approach these areas.
The course overall gave me an excellent grounding and had I been going onto further law related modules would have made me feel well prepared.

Jacqueline Bray

Course starting: October 2014

Review posted: August 2015

Please note

Each of the views expressed above is an individual's very particular response, largely unedited, and should be viewed with that in mind. Since modules are subject to regular updating, some of the issues identified may have already been addressed. In some instances the faculty may have provided a response to a comment. If you have a query about a particular module, please contact your Regional Centre.

Enter a module code to find a review

To send us reviews on modules you have studied with us, please click the sign in button below.