Skip to content The Open University

Student and tutor module reviews

People, work and society Access module

see module description

  • Points: 30
  • Code: Y032
  • Level: Postgraduate
On this page

Student reviews

I started my Access module in 2019 after not studying for years. Wanting to get back into studies the Access module was the best starter point for me. I found it challenging to start with but my tutor was so understanding and explained the direction to go. I did not get to finish my final etma with Covid 19 but I was still able to pass with my previous grades.

Amanda Keen

Course starting: October 2019

Review posted: July 2020

A brilliant beginners course for social sciences, health, childcare students. Also, the access course gave me a head start with my study skills as well as learning about the website, forums, distance learning, it was the best decision I took before beginning my degree. I cannot rate this course enough, there are so many benefits and the topics are varied, interesting and thought provoking. Now that I have experienced my first year of my degree, I am aware that i have benefited enormously from Y032.

Jade Freeman

Course starting: February 2018

Review posted: March 2019

I found this module really helpful in preparing me for the start of a degree course. It gave me the insight and the confidence to continue with my studies with thanks to my tutor.

Course starting: January 2016

Review posted: February 2017

I would recommend Y032 to anyone who's considering studying with the OU for the first time. It gives you an insight into a number of topics so it's ideal if you're not sure which subject you want to study. I am returning to education as a mature student who works full time and I found the hours needed each week really manageable. I'm so glad I did this course first as I've just started DD102 and I don't have to spend time getting familiar with everything, I can just get stuck into the module instead.

Course starting: January 2016

Review posted: February 2017

I really enjoyed the access module and was a great help in getting me back into education. I would recommend to anyone to try an Access module if they are unsure of whether the Open University is right for them. It helped my confidence a great deal and was worth every minute and penny.

Samantha Lewis

Course starting: January 2015

Review posted: February 2016

Please note

Each of the views expressed above is an individual's very particular response, largely unedited, and should be viewed with that in mind. Since modules are subject to regular updating, some of the issues identified may have already been addressed. In some instances the faculty may have provided a response to a comment. If you have a query about a particular module, please contact your Regional Centre.

Enter a module code to find a review

To send us reviews on modules you have studied with us, please click the sign in button below.