Skip to content The Open University

Student and tutor module reviews

The philosophy dissertation

see module description

  • Points: 60
  • Code: A857
  • Level: Postgraduate

Student reviews

The dissertation year maintains a very creditable balance between on the one hand, a largely unfettered choice of research topic (within the overall scope of "contemporary social and political philosophy")and selection of research materials etc; and on the other, periodic proactive guidance and input from the tutor.

If there is any slight criticism to be made of the overall structure of the MA, it lies in the somewhat restrictive nature of available research topics imposed by contemporary social and political philosophy in the Anglo-American analytical tradition. This reservation might be felt most keenly perhaps by those students contemplating further philosophical research unrelated to political philosophy and/or grounded in the continental tradition.

Whether or not the above does indeed represent a fair and valid criticism of the structure of the MA, the dissertation year without doubt provides a first-class grounding in the techniques and mechanisms of academic research and stands comparison with anything available at more traditional universities.

In conclusion, then, the dissertation year is overall to be recommended strongly as a satisfactory conclusion to postgraduate work at Open University.

Stephen John Coote

Course starting: February 2013

Review posted: December 2013

Be ready for a cold plunge - A857 presents a very different OU year to any you may have done before - you're basically on your own.

Yes, the usual support elements are there and can be ticked-off, but at root there's little difference between A857 and the sort of work entailed in doing a research degree. You deliver a map (the proposal) the OU tells you if they think it covers the intended territory, and then you're off with a 'bon voyage' and a 'see you at the other end'.

More encouragingly? Put the time in, do your reading and A857 turns into a cracking course. On reflection? A year well spent.

Gerald Dane

Course starting: February 2011

Review posted: December 2011

I've never felt as lonely as I did during this course...
The redeeming features were:
1) the constant support and encouragement by my tutor
2) the philosphy day school that was organized in Birmingham, where I met some of my fellow A857 students for the first (and sadly, only) time.

But overall, it was a great challenge and opportunity, and I'm glad I took it.

Susanne Mathies

Course starting: February 2008

Review posted: June 2009

Wonderful to be able to choose the topic and approach at last, and to have more scope (16-18,000 words). You need plenty of self-discipline, though, and the time between sending the last draft and submitting the bound dissertation is not really enough to be able to make any but very minor changes.

Course starting: February 2004

Review posted: December 2004

Please note

Each of the views expressed above is an individual's very particular response, largely unedited, and should be viewed with that in mind. Since modules are subject to regular updating, some of the issues identified may have already been addressed. In some instances the faculty may have provided a response to a comment. If you have a query about a particular module, please contact your Regional Centre.


Module satisfaction survey

The figures below are taken from a survey of students who sat the exam/completed the end-of-module assessment for the February 2014 presentation of A857. The survey was carried out in 2014.

18 students (a response rate of 48.6%) responded to the survey covering what they thought of 10 aspects of the module.

Please note that if the percentage of students who responded to this module survey is below 30% and/or the number of responses is below 23 it means that only a small proportion of students provided feedback and their views as shown here may not be fully representative of all students who studied the module.

See this page for the full text of questions and more information about the survey.

% Count
Overall, I am satisfied with the quality of this module 82.4 14
Overall, I am satisfied with my study experience 83.3 15
The module provided good value for money 55.6 10
I was satisfied with the support provided by my tutor/study adviser on this module 94.4 17
Overall, I was satisfied with the teaching materials provided on this module 53.8 7
The learning outcomes of the module were clearly stated 71.4 10
I would recommend this module to other students 76.5 13
The module met my expectations 81.3 13
I enjoyed studying this module 88.2 15
Overall, I was able to keep up with the workload on this module 77.8 14
Faculty comment: "That this is a dissertation module (where all the material is generated by the student) makes some of this data difficult to interpret. We note that high levels of satisfaction students have with the support from their tutor, and have noted all the other responses."
Enter a module code to find a review

To send us reviews on modules you have studied with us, please click the sign in button below.