Skip to content The Open University

Student and tutor module reviews

The art history residential school

see module description

  • Points: 15
  • Code: AXR272
  • Level: 2

Student reviews

Everyone should take a residential course, although now there are very few subjects to choose from.
Great course, fantastic tutors, and great London galleries.

Emma-Jayne Helen Bovey

Course starting: May 2013

Review posted: May 2014

Simply a wonderful, if intense, course. If I could afford the fee and time off work again this year I would be straight down to London for this years intake as nothing beats face-to face-tuition, and that is exactly what you get. More than that the tutors are encouraging and approachable, none of them laughed at any ideas that were banded around nor did they dismiss anything suggested. Everything was explained very well and at a level that was understandable - wish I had recorded all of the lectures as I could of with those nuggets of explanations now!

If you are thinking of doing A226 I would strongly suggest doing this course beforehand as it covers the same period (all of history basically) and gives you short and intense tutorship on pieces and some theories.

Art history is a discipline that can be hard to get your head round, I am still trying, but I found this course an eye opener and like AD281 it has given me new viewpoints to explore.

Well worth the money and a week of your life.

Course starting: May 2013

Review posted: April 2014

I loved this course and the tutors and the other students. Other students have described what the course was like, so I will not repeat. As a retired old lady, I found the long days tiring, but managed to keep up with the others, and slept like a log at night. The accommodation was comfortable, and I was relieved to find I had my own little bathroom inside my room instead of having to share.

For my two essays I chose pictures I had never seen before, and learned a lot from analysing and researching them. I was very happy to get a high score, my best ever, for this course.

Course starting: May 2013

Review posted: February 2014

Although its title is "..Residential" there is an essay to do before arriving and a graded 2000 word essay to complete afterwards. The main body of the course is a series of visits and seminars with experts in their field who are also enthusiastic and frequently inspiring. Covering historical periods from medieval to modern, and also World Art, there is ample scope to choose your own interest; but for me the greatest benefit was having my horizons widened to include areas I previously knew less about. There is a strong emphasis on context, both of production of art works and their display. Demanding and worthwhile!

Graham Charles Dane

Course starting: May 2013

Review posted: January 2014

I absolutely loved this residential course. The OU tutors worked their socks off to provide us with a really interesting week. There is a different gallery visit - with a REAL expert - each day, plus lectures and seminars when you are back at base at Queen Mary College.

You have to complete a short assignment [not graded] before the course and you also have to participate in a group presentation [not graded] on the final day. My group of three did a version of the South Bank Show. We looked at the issue of where works of art truly belong - in their original country, or elsewhere. Then after the course you write a 2,000 word assignment [graded], comparing and contrasting two works of art, one of which must be on the OU's list of works of art seen on the gallery visit. I compared one of the Parthenon marbles with a Henry Moore sculpture. The mark you get for this assignment is the mark for the course.

Everything about this course was good. It is a fantastic bargain for its very modest fee. I recommend it to anyone with an interest in art.

Pamela Glanville

Course starting: May 2008

Review posted: December 2008

This was fun! A superbly organised course, with great teaching sessions. The guided tours of the Galleries were a real treat. I came to this course with no previous formal study of Art History, but the preparatory reading materials were excellent. HIGHLY recommended - I would so love to do it again!

Course starting: May 2007

Review posted: July 2008

Please note

Each of the views expressed above is an individual's very particular response, largely unedited, and should be viewed with that in mind. Since modules are subject to regular updating, some of the issues identified may have already been addressed. In some instances the faculty may have provided a response to a comment. If you have a query about a particular module, please contact your Regional Centre.

Top

Module satisfaction survey

The figures below are taken from a survey of students who sat the exam/completed the end-of-module assessment for the May 2011 presentation of AXR272. The survey was carried out in 2011. 49.6% of our students responded to the survey covering what they thought of 10 aspects of the module. See this page for the full text of questions and more information about the survey.

Overall, I am satisfied with the quality of this module 88.1 %
Overall, I am satisfied with my study experience 84.7 %
The module provided good value for money 72.9 %
I was satisfied with the support provided by my tutor/study adviser on this module 81.4 %
Overall, I was satisfied with the teaching materials provided on this module 79.7 %
The module met its stated learning outcomes 74.6 %
I would recommend this module to other students 89.8 %
The module met my expectations 86.4 %
I enjoyed studying this module 93.2 %
Overall, I was able to keep up with the workload on this module 6.3 %
Faculty comment: "We are pleased by the high levels of student satisfaction with AXR272, both in terms of the quality of the module, the study experience overall and students' enjoyment of the module. It is encouraging to learn that students find the tutor-led gallery visits particularly useful, especially given that the opportunity to provide first-hand experience of works of art in gallery and museum settings is central to the module. We are pleased that AXR272 was of value to a student new to art history, given that the module aims to benefit both students currently enrolled on art history modules and those who are new to the discipline."
Enter a module code to find a review

To send us reviews on modules you have studied with us, please click the sign in button below.