Skip to content The Open University

Student and tutor module reviews

Discovering mathematics

see module description

  • Points: 30
  • Code: MU123
  • Level: 1
On this page

Student reviews

This was a good starting course for OU study, it was basic enough with structure and content that you could work on how you write and present your maths. The books were clear, the accompanying materials a little basic. Most of the concepts were GCSE level tbh, but welcomed to be revisited 15 years after my exam!

Was a good grounding to go onto further maths. A little dull at times due to the level of the maths, but a sense of achievement as a first OU level 1 module studied.

Natalie Reading

Course starting: October 2012

Review posted: June 2014

I liked this course however,I would have liked it to be a little more challenging. A good grade GCSE in higher maths will well equip anyone considering this course. I got an A in Maths and even though this was a while ago, I never struggled with any of the content of this module.

If you are not familiar with maths I could definitely see people struggling with this course, however, the text books are fantastic with walk-through examples for each and every topic.

The one thing I was disappointed with was the grading system. I got a 91 in the assignments section and 89 in the examinable component so received a pass (you either get a pass or fail) but a nice sparkly distinction grade would have made my day.

Kerrie-Ann Burns

Course starting: February 2013

Review posted: June 2014

I enjoyed this course, the materials and tutor were really helpful and I got to grips with the subject matter which was probably a refresher of the Maths I should have learnt at school.

Rebecca Pierce

Course starting: October 2012

Review posted: May 2014

A very easy choice for anyone who needs to get 30 credits. The level of Mathematics is probably the same for GCSE level, and having achieved a top grade at A level maths, I found it quite simple.

There were more TMAs in this module than in others; however they took a fraction of the time an essay would.

Would recommend this course for anyone who wants a fresh reminder of maths from their school days.

Course starting: February 2013

Review posted: March 2014

Very good course. No matter how good you think you are at maths, this course shows how you can still improve your written skills.

I took this course as a filler, but it opened my eyes to the bad habits which I had picked up. As an introductory course to maths, it is brilliant. Would well recommend.

Course starting: February 2013

Review posted: November 2013

I would highly recomend this course to any forty something "mature" students like myself. I really had a strong aversion to Mathematics at high school, I think this can be fairly attributed to poor teachers who probably did not fully understand the subject themselves. This course however was extremely well structured in my opinion for beginers or people like myself who use a lot of general Mathematical principles in their everyday job but have picked up bad techniques from fellow workers along the way. The tutor was always available to answer questions via email.

Course starting: October 2012

Review posted: November 2013

This was a wonderful experience and a dream come true doing this course. I left school with no knowledge of mathematics or examinations so this course was an eye opener. I have always wanted to understand mathematics, and I found it fascinating. I did find it hard at times but that may be because I was also doing a language course at the same time. I surprised myself in getting reasonable results for my TMAs and EMA.

Also I am hearing impaired and had to rely on online tutorials because of the area I live in, which was hard because of not being able to understand 100% of what went on with the tutorials but my tutor and others were very good and helped a lot.

I would like to thank the OU for making this happen for me. One day who knows I may carry on with mathematics but at the moment I'm going towards language courses which is also a challenge for me and once again something I always wanted to learn.

Course starting: October 2012

Review posted: September 2013

I enjoyed this course very much and the learning of algebra was fascinating. I would have preferred just one big textbook rather than all the books as I kept having to find them all the time for referring back. The TMAs are not easy and take a lot of studying but all in all it is a worthy course for anyone who wants to understand maths. It has helped me also to engage with the children with their homework especially algebra!

Course starting: February 2012

Review posted: August 2013

Lovely course. Material was easy to understand and TMA easy to do.
I had great support from tutor as well.
It is a revision if you had math few years ago and do not feel confident in the subject.
I feel that I should have done MS121 rather then mu123 as I found it too easy for me.

Course starting: February 2012

Review posted: July 2013

The perfect course for anyone who was told they were useless at maths at school! The course books were fun and lively (not two adjectives I would previously have thought appropriate to maths books)and my tutor was excellent. I also really enjoyed using the online resources such as dataplotter and graphplotter, which certainly beat drawing graphs by hand.

This course certainly boosted my confidence - if I can complete (and pass) a maths course, anything is possible! My only slight criticism was that the EMA came rather hard on the heels of the last TMA, so that my EMA was rather more rushed than I would have liked. All in all, a thoroughly enjoyable introduction to OU Maths - highly recommended.

Karen Thomas

Course starting: October 2012

Review posted: July 2013

The course is very enjoyable and very helpful to refresh high school math. However, if you are looking for a challenge and you were good at math in high school, then MU123 is probably not a good choice for you.

The course material is very well written and enjoyable, and our tutor was very professional and prepared.
Overall, I am satisfied with the course.

Course starting: February 2012

Review posted: July 2013

An easy one. A pleasure to study it. The course is for beginners and the material is easy to read and understand. If you have studied math before you should skip it but if you have not then do it as it is good preparation for MST121. I would definitely recommend it.

Emil Eftimov

Course starting: October 2011

Review posted: April 2013

Far too easy for me. I wish I started straight on MST121 (Using Mathematics).
If you've studied GCSE maths or something at a similar level then this should be easy enough for you. If you haven't then it shouldn't tax your brain cells too much. But everything is clearly explained and there's plenty of worked examples which show you how the problems are solved.

It's an easy 30 credits towards your degree though; ideal if you've other modules/courses that are taking up most of your time.

Course starting: October 2011

Review posted: August 2012

A very rewarding course! I hadn't studied mathematics since last taking this subject(at GCSE in 1996)and I was pleased to find that any gaps in my knowledge were more than covered in the available course Books A-D. There are also two additional books, supplementing the units including a glossary, summaries of maths concepts and calculator exercises. It is worth cross-checking with these as you progress through the units as they help to reinforce your learning.

The tutorials were held approximately once a month with interspersed Elluminate-Live online tutorials, which were also very useful. I have to say, my tutor was absolutely excellent and replied to any of my queries within a couple of hours and the tutorials always addressed any concerns students had.

Completing this course and achieving 95 percent was largely due to the professional way in which the literature was presented; it was very comprehensive, varied and enjoyable.
Although some students disliked the iCMAs (interactive computer marked assignments) I gained a lot from them as you have ample opportunity to test yourself via online (end of unit)Practice Quizzes, which are also interactive - they test your recently learned knowledge and you gain instant feedback once you have completed the end of unit quiz.

Many of the earlier concepts, which are often not covered in basic maths qualifications, such as surds made this course much more interesting and algebra(the part I most feared), was by the end my strongest area-thanks largely to the way it was taught in the materials.

Finally, for any prospective MU123 students; have faith in the course materials and cover as much of the subject content as possible, the effort is worth it!

Hilary Jane Kitching

Course starting: February 2011

Review posted: August 2012

This was my first introduction to studying with the Open University and I thoroughly enjoyed it. I came into it having not done any maths for 20+ years.

It starts with a very gentle approach and constantly builds upon what you have learned previously. The learning curve does tend to get a little sharper towards the latter end of the units but it is definitely manageable. I managed very high marks throughout.

The course materials were excellent, as was my tutor. I would highly recommend this module to anyone.

Craig Cope

Course starting: October 2011

Review posted: August 2012

Please note

Each of the views expressed above is an individual's very particular response, largely unedited, and should be viewed with that in mind. Since modules are subject to regular updating, some of the issues identified may have already been addressed. In some instances the faculty may have provided a response to a comment. If you have a query about a particular module, please contact your Regional Centre.

Enter a module code to find a review

To send us reviews on modules you have studied with us, please click the sign in button below.