Skip to content The Open University

Student and tutor module reviews

MSc project module

see module description

  • Points: 60
  • Code: S810
  • Level: Postgraduate

Student reviews

A difficult and challenging course to complete the MSc in Earth Sciences. Personally I expected to find this course a bit of a beast and my expectations were justified! At times I felt out of my depth and wondered how I could possibly achieve the 15000 word target but I persevered and eventually it came together.

I found the student forums to be particularly light hearted and stimulating at Masters level, far less studiously intense that at Undergraduate level. I did experience several issues around the tuition and guidance situation that were never completely resolved.

I think this course exemplifies the very high standard that the OU sets for itself and its students. I was very pleased to be able to research a subject of particular interest to me and I was relieved and pleased to have achieved a pass.

Michael Trevor Hinton

Course starting: November 2012

Review posted: July 2014

A fantastic course, which allows you to enjoy research in a chosen field of science. Having previously completed Molecules in Medicine and Issues in Brain and Behaviour, my project was based on medicinal chemistry/pharmacology in the setting of Alzheimer's disease. The eTMAs were demanding, but helpful in terms of project management and time keeping - it can be very easy to get lost in the massive amount of papers available!

My tutor was brilliant, and most certainly helped me stay on track - especially when I encountered difficulties. I also found his feedback refreshing and supportive. I have to add, he also gave me the best line of advice I have ever received as a student: "Don't ever be afraid of putting forward your ideas, even if they might be wrong".

To summarise - this is also the main goal of the course, you are indeed meant to present new ideas and lines of thought in your chosen field of study. Initially I was worried I would not manage to produce a critical review of 15000 words, however, in the end it was actually hard to compress all that wonderful research into the given word limit. I would recommend this course to anyone who loves diving deeply into a field of science they feel passionate about. This was my favourite OU course, and an experience I would never want to be without.

Hege Zahl

Course starting: January 2010

Review posted: February 2011

The MSc Project Module is well recommended for students which have developed their own research questions. However, highly motivated students will recognize that a PhD project has to follow after completing this course. It was very exciting to work on his own research ideas and to collaborate with other researchers.

I started this course without deep background in the areas of medical image processing and radiotherapy. Therefore, my workload was about 40% higher than planned. My work was interest driven, therefore the level of difficulties was irrelevant.

I have learned also how to write a proposal and a scientific report, composed of an abstract, introduction, body, conclusions and references.

All in all, one of the best courses at the OU and highly recommended for students which will continue their studies with a PhD.

Course starting: January 2004

Review posted: November 2005

Please note

Each of the views expressed above is an individual's very particular response, largely unedited, and should be viewed with that in mind. Since modules are subject to regular updating, some of the issues identified may have already been addressed. In some instances the faculty may have provided a response to a comment. If you have a query about a particular module, please contact your Regional Centre.

Top

Module satisfaction survey

The figures below are taken from a survey of students who sat the exam/completed the end-of-module assessment for the November 2015 presentation of S810. The survey was carried out in 2016.

34 students (a response rate of 59.6%) responded to the survey covering what they thought of 10 aspects of the module.

Please note that if the percentage of students who responded to this module survey is below 30% and/or the number of responses is below 23 it means that only a small proportion of students provided feedback and their views as shown here may not be fully representative of all students who studied the module.

See this page for the full text of questions and more information about the survey.

% Count
Overall, I am satisfied with the quality of this module 97.1 33
Overall, I am satisfied with my study experience 96.9 31
The module provided good value for money 82.4 28
I was satisfied with the support provided by my tutor/study adviser on this module 91.2 31
Overall, I was satisfied with the teaching materials provided on this module 84.8 28
The learning outcomes of the module were clearly stated 91.2 31
I would recommend this module to other students 94.1 32
The module met my expectations 93.9 31
I enjoyed studying this module 97.1 33
Overall, I was able to keep up with the workload on this module 87.9 29
Faculty comment: "The module team would like to thank the students who took part in the survey and provided feedback on their study experience with us. We're delighted that respondents are overwhelmingly satisfied with their study experience on this module, in particular with the level of tutor and module team support. For the November 2017 intake, we're pleased to showcase a new module website which hosts a number of updated study documents."
Enter a module code to find a review

To send us reviews on modules you have studied with us, please click the sign in button below.