The Open UniversitySkip to content

The Open University in London

In London

As well as being a provider of education nationally, The Open University is involved in a number of local projects and partnerships, contributing to education and the local economy.


Our Regional Centre

The OU in London serves students right across London. We’re based in Camden Town and our 100 staff and 850 tutors support 18,000 students by phone, email and through tutorials at 22 study centres in London.

Our Regional Centre is a hub for enquirers and students, with regular open events to give you a feel for what it's like to study with the OU. If you are thinking about studying with the OU or are trying to decide which course is right for you, you can come and view course materials in the Library at the Regional Centre on weekdays between 9.00am and 4.30pm.


Open Near You

We work with libraries, museums and other organisations across the city to provide a busy programme of events throughout the year, aimed at people who are new to the OU or who have had some time away from study. Come along for an informal conversation to get answers to your questions about courses, study methods and how to fit study around the rest of your life.


Please click below to view the full programme of OU Events in London


Home but not alone

Through 'partnership' and contract agreements local colleges, universities and other bodies provide facilities for Open University staff to meet their students for tutorials at the following places in London:

  • Aldwych (London School of Economics)
  • Birkbeck (Birkbeck College)
  • Bromley (Bromley College)
  • Camden Town (Open University in London Regional Centre)
  • Chiswick (Arts Educational London Schools)
  • Croydon (Croydon College)
  • Hammersmith (William Morris Academy)
  • Hampstead (Hampstead Town Hall)
  • Harrow (Harrow College)
  • Havering (Havering College)
  • Kingston (Kingston College)
  • Mile End (Queen Mary College)
  • Museum of London
  • New Cross (Goldsmiths College)
  • Plaistow (Lister Community School)
  • Putney (South Thames College)
  • Regents College
  • Shoreditch (Hackney Community College)
  • Southgate (Southgate College)
  • Tottenham (College of Haringey, Enfield and North East London)
  • Twickenham (Richmond-upon-Thames College)
  • Westminster (University of Westminster's New Cavendish Street, Marylebone and Wells Street campuses)
  • Waterloo (King's College, London, Waterloo Campus and Strand Campus)
  • Waltham Forest College

Actual tutorial provision at individual locations depends on the overall tutorial programme and level of demand.


School Governors required

The Open University is supporting national charity School Governors’ One-Stop Shop to encourage more people to volunteer as School Governors.

Being a Governor allows you to make a positive difference to the lives and aspirations of local children and provides a fantastic opportunity for personal and professional development. Open University students who have already volunteered for this role within their local schools have found the experience both challenging and extremely rewarding.

School Governors are the most important voluntary workers in education BUT there can still be as many as 40,000 vacant places across England at any one time!

Please see the attached for further information about the School Governors’ One-Stop Shop and how to get involved.

For further information about becoming a School Governor


Community Partnerships in London

The Open University has always aimed to make higher education accessible to people unable to pursue the traditional routes to university study.

In London, we run a series of activities designed to enable those who might not normally consider HE study to successfully study with the OU.

Please contact us on 020 7485 6597 to find out more.

Back to top