Skip to content The Open University

Student and tutor module reviews

Introducing the social sciences

see module description

  • Points: 60
  • Code: DD102
  • Level: 1
On this page

Student reviews

Really good module. Lots of different topics covered. Great tutor support. I just found some of the tutor-marked assignment questions could have been worded better for understanding what the assignment was asking for.

Course starting: February 2020

Review posted: February 2021

This module is a broad introduction to the social sciences which is a very good foundation for further study as it builds up study skills and confidence. I have found it very enjoyable and the tutors friendly and encouraging.

Course starting: October 2019

Review posted: September 2020

It was a slow start but as the module went on it became more and more interesting. Prepare to become sick of City Road but when the module moved away from there, I started to really enjoy it. It was a good first module as there was a lot of exercises to help with essay writing and other study skills. Overall a good module if you can slog through the first two months.

Lauren Henderson

Course starting: October 2019

Review posted: August 2020

I really didn't think I'd get on with this module at first as it looked boring on first impressions. Well I shouldn't have judged a book by its cover! I really enjoyed this module.

I did both DD102 and 'Investigating Psychology' (DE100) alongside each other. I really didn't have high hopes for myself being able to keep up with the workload or getting good marks due to me leaving school aged 12 (now just turned 35) never having done essays, I had no idea how to reference nor how to structure an argumentative essay in fact I'm not even sure I do now!

But did I enjoy this year? Yes I did. I was able to keep up with both modules and actually did pretty well, I had a picky tutor for this module and he didn't like the way I wrote an essay plan but having never done 1 of these either I was simply guessing! But he was so nice and he explained everything, happily emailing back if I needed any explanations I got really good marks throughout.

Anyone considering doing this module seriously do it, I can't believe how it changed my perspective on things like advertising and how shops are laid out, how we are intertwined and the strands in life etc I am a consumer by nature but I enjoyed learning about how and why!

This module eases you in and doesn't go too fast so you can keep up, the book is brilliant and a fantastic help, also the student week by week is so helpful showing you what you are doing, even allows you to get ahead which I did all year, I sent all my essays in weeks before they were due in, though you do have to wait for them to be marked.

Overall I really think anyone who's not studied before or anyone nervous about it or maybe thinks they can't do it... I'm proof you can.. I was shocked at the grades I got and passed with good scores.

And to my tutor you know who you are, thank you so much for your patience and understanding I hope you thoroughly enjoy your retirement now, you deserve it. From myself and all your students thank you!

Kelly Johnson

Course starting: October 2019

Review posted: August 2020

Returning to study was rather daunting as a mature student but I found this module very enjoyable. Time management for studying was very important with a full time job but I found the course material and the online tutorials excellent for guidance on upcoming tutor-marked assignments and preparing for a computer-marked assessment.
In my opinion this is an excellent module for anyone returning to education in preparation to study for a degree.
I found all my tutors very approachable on this module which gave me the confidence I needed when studying this module.

Roberta McDowell

Course starting: October 2019

Review posted: July 2020

I really enjoyed this module. It provides an excellent grounding in the social sciences and takes a closer look at the fabric of every day life, something which most of us do not think about and take for granted. My tutor was also very helpful.

I found the essay planning and writing prepared me well for my second year where I studied DD100, which is also a level 1 module but more challenging that this one.

Tasmyn Gorecki

Course starting: October 2018

Review posted: April 2020

Very interesting module. My tutor provided lots of helpful feedback and was always helpful when I had questions regarding course work. I must say that attending day school sessions really helped as tutors were available to assist and I just felt better equipped to produce tutor-marked assignments.

Course starting: October 2018

Review posted: April 2020

I really liked this module as it gave me a great foundation to report writing which set me up for future modules. I was very glad I did this module first before Investigating psychology 1(DE100), especially as its been some years as a mature student since I've studied and never at Uni level.

Monique Saunders

Course starting: October 2018

Review posted: February 2020

Tutor amazing, great module.

Course starting: October 2018

Review posted: September 2019

I recently completed DD102. I studied this module alongside Investigating psychology (DE100). I really enjoyed studying this module. The tutors, especially my own, were brilliant. I loved attending the dayschool on weekends and meeting other students on the module, it was a great opportunity to speak to my tutor and ask questions about assignments. It's a great module to do if you're doing a psychology degree, as some psychological perspectives are compared to sociological perspectives in later assignments.

Course starting: October 2018

Review posted: August 2019

I found the course enjoyable. The material was easy to follow and understand. The tutorials were informative and I would definitely recommend this module

Course starting: January 2018

Review posted: August 2019

Very pleasant module to start your university journey. The module pace builds up gradually throughout the year and the material is very clear and structured. The module is a general introduction to the social sciences however it particularly focuses on how the subjects relate in the context of contemporary British society. For a more rounded and global perspective I recommend studying along with Investigating the social world (DD103) which I have found to be a great complementary module to DD102.

Cristina de Leo

Course starting: October 2018

Review posted: July 2019

Doing a degree in psychology I wondered why I needed to choose a non-psychology module, how wrong I was, the knowledge offers another way to frame questions; How our behaviour and choices are influenced by the society in which we live requiring a deeper understanding of complex social structures.

The distance learning journey was a great experience making intangible social processes visible and manageable.
The material was comprehensive, brilliantly structured and easy to follow supported by ample online material, although I found I wanted to research some areas at a deeper level by accessing the reference material, (the course sparked my interest and linked to career goals rather something needed to pass the module).

In the framework of distance learning, the role of tutor and tutorials are extremely valuable. I was very lucky with the tutor assigned to me. She created a supportive motivated learning atmosphere with clear guidance at the start and helped me to achieve the learning module's outcome and enjoy the never-ending process of learning, a special thanks to my tutor and the other tutors from the module team.

The module has now finished but my learning journey continues as I internalise this material and I face my future modules with increased foundational knowledge, self-confidence and skills.

I recommend this module choice to anyone looking for a basic understanding of social science.

Maryna Morris

Course starting: October 2018

Review posted: July 2019

DD102 was a great foundation for the Social Sciences. I found whilst some topics were a bit drawn out that the module was varied and built on skills to enable you to succeed.

The online activities were well designed and structured to follow a logical order. The Assessment guide was thorough and if used in conjunction with tutorials, books, forums and online activities covered everything you need to know.

My tutor throughout was supportive and proactive which makes a big difference with distance learning. Perhaps sometimes the feedback was a little contradictory in relation to their examples, overall I was more than satisfied.

I am aware that not all students received the same level of support on the module and tutors information regarding requirements ( including those given out in the tutorials) was not consistent.

For anyone wishing to study Sociology of Pyschology, this is a great starting point.

Course starting: January 2018

Review posted: March 2019

Positives - an enjoyable course with varied material that maintained my interest throughout and allowed me to focus my studies on areas I particularly engaged with (EG: choice of TMA's towards the end of the module). My tutor was responsive and encouraging along with some of the other tutors I met. TMA feedback was timely and concise.

Negatives - lack of participation on the forums coupled with poor attendance at the face to face tutorials meant I never felt part of a student body. This was exacerbated by conflicting messages about what interaction was permitted between students (I was told that arranging a coffee after a tutorial was frowned upon!). There was a marked difference between the quality of the material provided by tutors with one in particular not bothering to turn up for the day school session he was running as part of the EMA preparation.
Some of the material felt dated (particularly around social networking).

Course starting: October 2017

Review posted: February 2019

Please note

Each of the views expressed above is an individual's very particular response, largely unedited, and should be viewed with that in mind. Since modules are subject to regular updating, some of the issues identified may have already been addressed. In some instances the faculty may have provided a response to a comment. If you have a query about a particular module, please contact your Regional Centre.

Enter a module code to find a review

To send us reviews on modules you have studied with us, please click the sign in button below.